Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Would P3 4k transmitter work with the P3 Standard

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Pahntom3PilotLi, Aug 22, 2016.

  1. Pahntom3PilotLi

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was curious about this because I saw that the Phantom 3 4k doesn't use light bridge but it used wifi like the Phantom 3 standard. They both communicate video with 2.4 ghz and controls with 5.8 ghz so I thought the p3 4k's transmitter would work with the p3 standard.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    No. I tried it and it does not work.
     
  3. Pahntom3PilotLi

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I was just wondering
     
  4. regdawg

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Why does the 4k use the upgraded remote anyway if no lightbridge? Just curious

    Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    Solely for the build quality and extra functions on the outside. The internals are not the same as the P3A/P3P since it uses Wi-Fi.
     
  6. iflyhelis

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Boston,MA
    I just bought a p3 professional/4K & it does not use Wi-Fi, it doesn't show-up on my cellphone (Apple 6) as to sending a signal. I am directly connected from the phone to the RC transmitter via my USB cable provided by Apple.

    I got this on 8/12/16 & I finally worked out all the bugs in the firmware upgrade & flew it for the first time today (8/23/16) Compass problems/IMU errors/.

    Off subject:

    What program or app do I need to read the "SRT" extension files that are created after each video on the SD Card?

    I have been flying helicopters/planes since 1996, & this first flight was a piece of cake! Now to tackle the advanced features...

    Kurt
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    Are you saying you bought a P3P or a P34K? If you mean a P3P, then you're correct -- it uses Lightbridge.
     
  8. iflyhelis

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Boston,MA
    I am saying it was advertised as being a p3P4K as in p3 professional with 4K.

    Kurt
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,990
    Likes Received:
    5,590
    Location:
    US
    Got it. You have a P3P :)