Worth upgrading Phantom 2 or just buy Phantom 3?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a newbie with a new drone (quadcopter) that I got for dirt cheap which is a DJI Phantom 2. I got it because I was a little fascinated with drones but never really thought they would be this amazingly fun.
I've only flown indoor small RC helicopters before. I own a Sony Action cam X1000V.

What I would really love is to have a gimbal with a camera mounted and an FPV set up so I can monitor while I fly the drone. but it seems to be so expensive to upgrade my Phantom 2.

So to cut to the question, is it worth upgrading my Phantom 2 or should I maybe just fly around and keep having fun with it but really buy a Phantom 3 instead if I want nice aerial video and FPV?

It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum. I hope that you will take advantage of the benefits that come with membership and that you will be able to use the forum for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Phantom quadcopter’s.

With the P3 Standard as cheap as $500 you can't go wrong. To buy a decent gimbal (Zenmuse) you are looking a couple hundred dollars right there.
It has it all in one sleek package. I own a P2 all modded with just about everything. It is capable but it takes so much more to make it all happen not to mention the fortune I have sunk into it. I picked up a P3S as it is the best bargain in quads today! That makes 6 quads in my 'nest'. :D

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie with a new drone (quadcopter) that I got for dirt cheap which is a DJI Phantom 2. I got it because I was a little fascinated with drones but never really thought they would be this amazingly fun.
I've only flown indoor small RC helicopters before. I own a Sony Action cam X1000V.

What I would really love is to have a gimbal with a camera mounted and an FPV set up so I can monitor while I fly the drone. but it seems to be so expensive to upgrade my Phantom 2.