Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Won't start

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by JDIENES, Mar 14, 2015.

  1. JDIENES

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did the compass calibration, all good. Can control the camera, however motors won't start ?

    Any ideas ?
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,625
    Likes Received:
    5,693
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    S1 and S2 in the up position ?
     
  3. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    Have you calibrated both RC controller and P2 in there assistant software? If not do so then try again to start it up.
     
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    WeLcOmE to the fourm JDIENES :D

    How do you usually start the motors?

    I had that happen once, when I was really new. I simply forgot the motor start procedure. :oops:
     
  5. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,099
    Likes Received:
    404
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    I use the rewind pull rope. :lol:
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,409
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What flashes are you getting?

    Check your controller mode. make sure its mode 2.
    Plug into Phantom assist and make sure the sticks register to 1000 in all directions. If not, recalibrate in RC12 and then Phantom Assist.

    Rapid yellows = failsafe or no communications with controller.
    If you are getting flashes with reds, place the phantom on a cardboard box. Getting the phantom off the ground eliminates magnetic interference from rebar in the ground.

    Also check if you are in a no fly zone.
     
  7. Incisors

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having trouble starting also. Brand new. Initial signal said restricted flight area, not a no fly zone, so I moved a bit. Still wouldn't start while following all instructions, and then unexpectedly it started . I flew it around for the full battery and had a blast! Took off and landed many times, shutting power off etc and on again. Went back the next day and would not start again. Very frustrating as I became addicted instantly. Tried several locations and all the lights are signaling ready for take off. I emailed dji of course with no response, and then of course that same day I see that V 3 is out. ****. I have not uploaded any updates yet on computer as it was new, ready to fly etc, and I mainly use tablets so USB ports etc. anyone have any suggestions? It seems most that try recalibration end up with nothing changed. Should I just return it and order a 3? Please help as I understand now what the excitement was about.
     
  8. Great Pumpkin

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Santa Barbara County, California, USA
  9. Incisors

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks GP.