Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Won't recognize SD card. "Says No SD Card"

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Ghost Rider, Apr 29, 2016.

  1. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I can't upload the firmware update and the DJI Go App won't reformat card because in both instances it says there's no SD card. I replaced the ribbon. I get No SD card.
     
  2. mdowney58

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Mountain City, TN
    Try another SD card.
    I also see others recommend to try formatting that SD card in a computer.

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  3. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I tried another card. Same deal.
     
  4. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    It's still showing the same errors as when the camera was ripped off. When the new ribbon is plugged into the camera, it's supposed to work again, right?
     
  5. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I guess nobody here gets into fixing the gimbles and ribbons when they break. I put it back together right.
     
  6. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    Ever think the camera is damaged?
     
  7. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    Of course I though that but how do you tell?

    I wish I could get about 10 of you guys in a room and show you what I'm dealing with. I get power to the motors and the camera. I need to know how the entire system works. Will the gimble work on power up after a ribbon install or does it need to be updated? My DJI app says the camera needs to be updated but it won't let me because it says I have no SD card. So I'm stuck.
     
  8. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    Here's a question that might help me understand. If one of you guys sent me the camera...unplugged the main plug and two antennas, and sent it to me, would everything work just fine? Would my aircraft still need to be updated? Because if that's the case I'll send my aircraft to one of you out there to update and that should get me unstuck. No?
     
  9. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    809
    Likes Received:
    259
    The SD card isn't being recognized would be my 1st clue that it is broken.
     
  10. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    Some of us certainly do repair gimbals and ribbons and whatever else you have. It's difficult to give you a quick instant answer to fix your problem. I don't know if your cable fix was good. Don't know if your card slot is good. Don't know what else may be broken. You are on the right track though, an easy way to troubleshoot is to swap out components. No, no one here can tell you for sure that it's your camera that is at fault.
     
  11. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    That doesn't seem very likely though. It doesn't make sense. Here's how I understand it.

    Camera tore off, gave a yaw, pan and whatever the other axis is, malfunction and of course, I have no camera.

    I replaced the ribbon and when I power it up, nothing changes. It still shows that I need to do a firmware update and have those same three malfunctions. Also says I need to update the camera firmware.

    My concern is, I'm having a firmware issue and and stuck between updating the firmware and the malfunctions. Like, after I crashed, I updated the DJI Go App. So I am trying to get this thing back online from where it broke the ribbon and had the malfunctions to updating the newest firmware on the most recent DJI Go App.

    Does any of this make any sense?
     
  12. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    See this is what I'm thinking. But I don't have a spare Standard to do that with. If I did I'd get the answer.
     
  13. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    If my cable fix wasn't good, I don't think I'd be getting power to all three gimble motors and I don't think the camera would get warm. So I don't think that's the issue.

    The camera and both sides of the boards look perfect. The main board where the camera plugs into the bird looks good too and I notice a small green LED lights up intermittently when the power is on.I

    I feel like I need to do the firmware update for it to recognize the SD card again. The problem is, you can't do a firmware update without an SD card.
     
    #13 Ghost Rider, Apr 29, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2016
  14. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    Is there a factory reset setting on the drone? Should I try and use Litchi?
     
  15. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    What about the connector that hangs out if the bird? With the force of a crash, it's certainly possible a wire was damaged. Easy to ohm this out if you have a meter.
     
  16. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    On that connector lives power, control, and data connections. If you have partial connections, it is possible to lose partial functionality.
     
  17. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I don't have a meter.

    When you guys changed the ribbon, did you have to update the firmware for it to work again when you powered it up the first time? What's the aircraft supposed to do?
     
  18. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    No, replacing cables has nothing to do with firmware.
     
  19. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    If I were you, I would go over your cable repair again. Use a magnifying glass.
     
  20. Ghost Rider

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    87
    I used a magnifying glass and rechecked all the connections.

    I'll do it again later when I'm fresh.