Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Won't pass magnet calibration please help!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by yalag, Sep 25, 2013.

  1. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still haven't got my phantom off the ground yet arrived today! Now I'm stuck at magnet calibration. I'm following the procedure exactly. After the first spin, the light turns solid green. However after the second spin, each time it just goes back to red and yellow alternating blinks. Any ideas?

    Here are my magnet values

    [​IMG]

    I'm running 4.0 that's what my dealer has installed for me when shipped.
     
  2. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I'm not sure I have a magnet problem!! Because it's not really alternating red and yellow, it's doing two yellow and then three red. What is that? I've read that manual but doesn't mention that!
     
  3. mroberts

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    What position is your right hand mode switch in? If it's in the middle (ATTI) I think that's two yellow, and the three reds woudl be poor GPS. Are you doing this inside, or with your hand on the top of the Phantom?
     
  4. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are right. Eventually it got to just one red. But that one red won't go away. I'm completely outdoor I don't see why my gps would be bad. I'm suppose to not fly until there's no red right? How do I fix this?
     
  5. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    How long are you waiting for the red to go away? Sometimes it can take several minutes to get a green and you need a full view of the sky.
     
  6. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I waited around 10 minutes. It got down to 1 red. I have clear view of the sky, but with some high rise around me.
     
  7. mroberts

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    That would be the problem - you need a big area of sky since most satellites wont be directly above, btu will be coming from lower elevations. how much of the horizon can you see?

    You may be out of luck with your chosen flying location.
     
  8. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    But according to the manual I can fly with no red or one red. Is that true? I guess I was ready to go without even knowing it :(

    Also, suppose the GPS is really bad, it will automatically revert from GPS to Attl mode right? What is the difference anyway?
     
  9. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    You can fly it with no satellites at all if you want but it won't hold position. By the sounds of things this is your first quad or your first flying RC thing. If so, don't fly without GPS until you are completely happy with how the craft flies and behaves or you will find yourself in trouble very quickly.

    GPS mode holds position with your hands off the sticks. It will hold altitude using the barometer and the GPS data. When you move the sticks to change position then let go of them, it will stop and maintain position.
    ATTI mode keeps the Phantom level but doesn't use GPS to keep position. It will hold altitude using the barometer. If you move the sticks to change position and then let go of them, it will carry on in the direction it was moving in. You will have to apply opposite stick to counter it and stop.
    Manual mode is just that. No stabilisation at all. The Phantom will fly like a proper helicopter.
     
  10. mintakax

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not too long ago I was totally new to quads and RC flying . The phantom was my first experience. I am now comfortable flying in ATTI mode but would not have been initially. Perhaps you could find a big open field with lots of sky and learn a bit using GPS mode before you try ATTI ?
     
  11. yalag

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I will try that. But how do I know if GPS attl is available. If it's blinks green but with one red. Is that ok?
     
  12. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    One red means <6 satellites but >5. It will fly like that but accuracy will be limited.

    You would be best finding an open area and flying with all green flashes until you are comfortable with the Phantom.