Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Won't connect to GPS

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by kustomizer, Mar 27, 2015.

  1. kustomizer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure what I need to check. I re-calibrated the compass. Can being close to a 3 story building cause this? What else can be wrong?
     
  2. landmannnn

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Coventry and Limoges
    Download a GPS app onto your phone, see how many sats your phone finds in the same location.
     
  3. kustomizer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will do that to see what is going on here. I did take it to the other side of the building and it did connect, so I think I'm good now, but the GPS app is a good idea anyway, thanks.
     
  4. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    yep
     
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,763
    Likes Received:
    3,470
    Your compass is unrelated to GPS.
    Anything that blocks your sky also blocks GPS.
    Get somewhere where you have the best sky view rather than beside a large building.
     
  6. kustomizer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I moved to the other side of the building and it locked in just fine.