Wish the System Had a 'Learning' switch.

Reaction score
I am a newbie with the Phantom but not to RC aircraft. Fixed wing RC Aircraft are simple to fly compared to a heli or multi copter like the Phantom. Something that would help a lot of us newer folks, I think, would be for DJI to have a fully functional 'learning' switch that would allow the controller to work as if you actually had the drone in the air. All the intelligent flight modes don't work unless you have the aircraft in the air. If it's your first time trying that mode the various options and inputs are at least unfamiliar and trying to sort them out when in the air is a poor way to learn a bunch of never before seen options, Thank goodness this thing stays where you left it, if you don't touch the controls, until you learn how to do the various inputs. The first time I used RTH was when I was in one of the intelligent flight modes for the first time and couldn't find the "X" to close the page. I had 18% battery left and it was relatively close to me but it still created a pucker factor.

As a long time fixed wing and heli flyer I disagree. Fixed wing takes a bit of time to learn, helis take a huge amount of learning (and cost due to fequent crashes). The Phantom is ridiculously easy to fly. If you do get confused let go of the sticks, it'll hover in place until you're ready to go again.

But, to answer your concern, the Phantom does have exactly that - the simulator. It may not be as whizzy and pretty as Realflight or Phoenix sims, but it covers the multiple flight modes reasonably well, and it's free as part of DJI Go.

I think you are wanting something like a "Buddy Box" system like in traditional RC airplanes and helis, essentially that is what coach mode is:
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.