Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Wires on bottom of p2

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Monstertails, Jul 11, 2015.

  1. Monstertails

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just recently picked up a phantom 2 version 2 (non vision) and I noticed underneath the Phantom there are two wires taped to the bottom, one looks like it has a plug for a gamble the other one is just 4 little wires without a plug can any of those wires be used to connect the aftermarket gimbal I purchased from eBay?
     
  2. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Give this a try and see how it matches up to what you've got going on with yours.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Monstertails

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  4. Monstertails

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes that's exactly what I'm talking about, now I was wondering is there anyway I can use that small cable that does not have the connector on it to get Power to my aftermarket gimbal.. I am totally new to the phantoms and it took me a little bit to save up for this one, I just don't want to fry it
     
  5. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    You should be able to use the red and black wires to power your gimbal. Just make sure you keep + to + and - to -
     
  6. landmannnn

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Coventry and Limoges
    If you google "fitting tarot gimbal to phantom " you will find a few good videos on how to fit an aftermarket gimbal. It may not teach you anything, but at least it will give you confidence that you won't destroy it!
     
  7. Monstertails

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    thank you everyone for all the assistance I appreciate it I will check everything out look into everything thank you on a side note the 4 wires coming out of the bottom...... Are brown and red and brown and yellow
     
  8. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
    Then use the outermost brown and red wires. The red is "+" and the brown is "-"
    Red goes to red on your gimbal and brown goes to black.
     
    Monstertails likes this.
  9. Monstertails

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Awesome!! Thank you!! One last question. As far as the tilt control wire I have read two different things, one states use only one wire coming from the Naza and the other states you need two wires a signal and a ground. Does the phantom 2 only use a signal wire from the naza for tilt control or does it need a ground also?
     
  10. Green_Phantom

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI
  11. Monstertails

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    2
    Great much thanks for all the assistance