Wind speeds for first flights

Reaction score
i have my P3P now, indeed I have had it for a few weeks. But health problems, rain and now wind keeps it grounded.
I have some experience flying RC helicopters. But this is a new experience. Can someone advise me what sort of winds I should start to fly in please? I know what is recommended but that may well be for experienced pilots.
I live on the coast, literally a few yards from the sea, with a prevailing wind that blows off it on to the land. Apps like Hover say frequently that I can fly, but my own weather station tells me speeds are often too high. I cannot get detailed upper winds , between say 100-1000 feet, but. The upper air plots are not accurate enough. So I am trying to err on the safe side and not run my newly acquired drone on its first few flights.

Many thanks

Mike

Thanks guys. That sort of confirms the type of approach I was thinking of.
I have the uavforecast app but only the free version. I guess the upper winds are only available with the paid for version.

Once again my thanks

Mike

I didn't pay. I tried to pay them once but it didn't seem secure to me. So I didn't. I check wind speeds at 400 feet every flight...

i went to the online version rather than the iPad app and I see what you mean now. It can be very useful. I will see how it compares to my own 10m high readings and see if adjustments can be made.
No flying at the mo as forecast is for string winds and rain for the next few days.

Mike

No, I am the other side of the pond in Lancashire in the UK. The wind for me comes almost straight of the Atlantic some days, and almost every day we have a sea breeze. I am not going to be beaten I will be flying regularly somehow, and soon.

Mike

I try different altitudes in atti mode to get wind direction. Flew last night at 54.5mph with tail wind. Record for me lol P3P with windsurfers only mod!

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots