Wind limit for P2V+

Reaction score
Hi all, any advise on using Phantom for filming Kitesurfing event, usually the wind is about 20-25knt. What are the wind limit, please note I am a beginner.

Thanx

I've heard it can fly in some pretty rough winds (should be a few videos) but it all depends on conditions...
Your battery won't last nearly as long if the Phantom keeps trying to correct its position, those motors are going to be working hard.
If there's any trees or objects to hit, be aware that it may drift or be blown around.
Generally the higher you go the stronger the wind is, keep this in mind.
I have only flown in 18 knt wind once and had to fight with the controls to manoeuvre so it's a good chance to fly with atti mode and get smooth video.

Easiest way to test is to take it slow, see how it handles just off the ground then gradually bring her up checking how she's handling.
If there's no water, buildings or trees around then it's easy... I'm sure the kite guys won't want you tangling their lines though.

Hi Omani,
I encourage you to practice a lot before filming at an event. The phantom can handle 25 kph wind, but you must be prepared to fly it! Gusts and changing winds can pose problems especially if you're trying to get great shots. Take the time to know your bird and your capabilities with it. ;)

Just be careful, 25 knots is probably too much.
I'd say 5mph less than your top speed but be careful because gusts can be very unpredictable and wind speeds can increase signifintly the higher you go up. My rule is 15mph for normal flying and if it goes above 20mph stay low.
Here's a video I shot last week

kite surfers Dublin: http://youtu.be/PkhdktDm99g