Wilderness Charging??

Reaction score
I do a lot of multi day river raft trips and it would be phenomenal to take a Plus on a trip into Idaho's Wild & Scenic River Wilderness for example. Short of buying a ton of batteries, does anyone know if you can possibly charge these batteries with solar or some other kind of battery packs? Any feedback would be awesome! Thanks

I've charged my Phantom batteries off a "portable" 12v battery that I have with an inverter (used for photographic lighting),. but it's a brick.
Your best bet is buying additional batteries (and re-selling them after the trip perhaps).

a solar charger might work, but I can only imagine how long it would take (and how much it would cost)

at my local RC airport, a lot of guys bring portable gas powered generators, tho those are a bit big.

Here's my take on it after I looked into this a bit for myself. I'm no expert, just another guy that wants to take his Phantom everywhere.

When researching, I found that something like the Goal Zero Yeti 150 will only carry enough juice to fully recharge two Phantom batteries assuming you don't use it for anything else. Going up from there the Yeti 400 will do six to seven charges and the Yeti 1250 (100lb. monster battery) will do twenty Phantom recharges.

You can recharge the any of the above with solar panels, but even the small Yeti 150 battery takes 11-22 hours to charge with Goal Zero's largest panels (Boulder 30). All of them can be charged in short order via wall socket at home prior to departure.