Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

WIFI

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Chas, Aug 15, 2015.

  1. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Flying fine with the go app but I just noticed in the RC settings mode there is a request for the wifi SSID and a password.
    As silly as it sounds, is this what I need to do to connect the system to my LAN for updates?
    Things are working well and I don't want to screw something up but I want the latest updates with the GO app.
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If you are getting this when you are out flying-- put the app on airplane mode-- you don't want any upgrades going on or any other internet requests while your are flying. If you are home getting this then the app may be asking for this if you have auto upgrades enabled.
     
  3. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was not flying. I was just looking at the go app and the various settings. It appears the app is asking for the SSID and the password in order to connect the P3 to my wifi network so it can do upgrades.
    I just want to verify the app needs this connection to make upgrades. I don't want to brick the drone, but I don't have any teenagers to bail my butt out on the upgrades.
     
  4. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Bob,
    I guess I am asking if I need to connect my drone to my network for the upgrades, or is the fact my tablet is connected sufficient?
     
  5. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    What menu were you in to get that question?
     
  6. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Hmmmm-- that's a new one on me--- being of a suspicious nature:D:D-- almost sounds like a hacker question. If it is persistent, don't bite. You allow wifi connection on your device-- I don't think the app would be asking for that.
     
  7. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    When I enter camera view with just the tablet I have the disconnected notice. To the right of that is the tx symbol and a wifi symbol. When i tap the wifi symbol I get the Wifi screen which asks for the SSID and password. When I hit reply it says I must restart the aircraft to reset Wifi password.
    I don't want to screw up the system because it is working. But I want to be able to get the updates through GO.
     
  8. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Can you post a screen shot?
     
  9. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    I know how to do a screen shot but I don't know how to post it
     
  10. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
  11. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Figured it out........that's why I have questions.....little weak on computers!
     
  12. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Gotta ask maybe a stupid question... You are running a Phantom 3 right? If so, I dont know what to tell ya. Ive never seen that before. Interested to see what others have to say!
     
  13. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah. P3 advanced. I am wondering if this is what allows the GO app to update through the app. I assumed since my tablet is connected the updates would occur. But my app is showing 2.0.01.
     
  14. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Does your tablet/phone usually have wifi? And did it when you saw that come up?
    I turned off WiFi on mine and opened GO and I still dont have a "WIFI" tab. The controller is updated through the tablet now. But the tablet would already have wifi set up since it had to have WiFi to install the app. Im lost
     
  15. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    I was just going through the app to familiarize myself with its features. The wifi was on on the tablet while I was doing this. From what you say the app updates through wifi which was what I thought until I saw this. It made me wonder if the app had to have the LAN info to do the updates.
     
  16. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    No.. it doesnt. The tablet already has the needed info. The app isnt connecting with its own hardware. Its just using the tablets already set up hardware.
     
  17. Chas

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok thanks. Then I should probably ignore it.
     
  18. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Im amazed no one has responded to this yet. So many have so much to say usually. Im interested in whats going on too.
     
  19. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    To answer theOP's question, my guess is the app is big enough that you device want wifi to update. This is normal for large apps. Apple blocks large apps from updating till the device is on wifi so you don't use up your data. Nothing nefarious, just trying to save your data.

    Also, Stephan and Ill% Steve, you two need to suck it up & move on. Stop with the childish behavior and act like adults, agree to disagree. If I get more complaints about or from you guys I will be forced to give you both a warning.
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  20. Stephan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    82
    ok thanks