Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Wifi Module

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Chicago1, May 22, 2015.

  1. Chicago1

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    17
    Someone mentioned to me that the Wifi module on the Phantom 3 is the same as the one on the Vision 2+ Version 3; EXCEPT, DJI drilled a bunch of holes in the cover (and called it an upgrade). If this is true, why deal with the heat paste - just drill a bunch of small holes in the cover.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
    Someone tried that some months ago and found it created a lot of interference. Your mileage may vary though.
     
  3. Chicago1

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2014
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    17
    When replacement is necessary, the very least we should do is replace it with the one for the Phantom 3 - will it work?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
    No. They are not compatible. You should use this one.
     
    #4 msinger, May 22, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2015
  5. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Wifi module in a Phantom 3? o_O
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
  7. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,515
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Yeah, I was thinking there should be no way I'd get to the end of this thread before someone questioned that.

    To the OP, the P3 does not use wifi at all. Period. It's radio operated on the same 2.4ghz band but does not use wifi.
     
    bbfpv likes this.