Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

WIFI Interferance

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Japruck81, Jan 1, 2016.

  1. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    Just curious if my tablet is causing interference with my P3A. I was flying today and got the low transmission signal error when i was 110m high and 380 meters out. Would having the wifi on my tablet on interfere with the transmission. I am using a brand new TAB E with verizon service.

    Thanks
     
  2. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Yes it best to turn your device on airplane mode once you have cache your maps.
     
  3. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    ok thanks i never read that any where and was surprised on how fast it was going out of range. ill try it tomorrow.
     
  4. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    is there any other tips to get max distance out of the P3A?
     
  5. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    I recommend either the dbsmods.com itelite antenna or the fpvlr.com antennas. If you want to max out your distance this is the way to go. And even if you just want a strong reliable signal , then modifying your antenna is a great choice . Your Signal will far exceed the stock battery of the phantom .
     
  6. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    I have also heard great things about the 3d dynamics windsurfer and it doesn't require any modifications to the controller .
     
  7. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    It also helps to use the radar and make sure you keep your controller aimed perfectly at your bird . The radar will help you aim .
     
  8. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    Thanks for the advice i will look into these ideas.
     
  9. JustinJ

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    1) Turn your wifi off

    2) fly somewhere away from other people's wifi / radio signals etc.

    You don't really need any mod - it will void any DJI warranty

    (Apart from the parabolic windsurfer type - as they only attach to the antennas)

    I'm not sure anyone should be suggesting such "extreme" mods to you.. Def not without knowing you previous experience with flying / quads etc.

    (Anyway, your stock P3 is capable of a lot further then LOS in the right environment)
     
  10. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    He was asking how to max out his distance . He is a big boy . He can make his own decisions about what to do with his phantom . Just because it's not for you doesn't mean it's not for someone else. All these fly babies are so freaking annoying !!!
     
    yawnalot29 likes this.
  11. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    And it's not about flying far it's about having a strong reliable signal. Next read the entire post fly baby !!
     
  12. JustinJ

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    I don't think OP was asking about "maxing out" beyond stock.. maybe he was maybe he wasn't.

    Regardless, he has more input about it now - this is a forum!
     
  13. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    lol relax guys... i was just wondering why my distance today was so short that is all i will fly tomorrow with my tablet in airplane mode and see if it helps. thanks again for the help. hopefully thats all that was wrong.
     
  14. JustinJ

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    No problem here my friend.. I was just giving some free advice / an opinion.
     
  15. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    It's all good. It's always best to get as much information as you can and make the best decision based on what fits your needs and comfort level.
     
  16. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Good luck !! Hopefully that helps. Keep US Posted !!
     
  17. MattyDread

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2015
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    108
    Location:
    Canberra - Australia
    I go on a dried up lake with no interference, trees wifi etc & can easily get 4km on a stock set up - like others have said keep your transmitter pointed at your P3, also a higher altitude helps
     
  18. yawnalot29

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    116
    How accurate is the radar? Seems like if my device or RC does not have a GPS unit, the radar may not be all that accurate?
     
  19. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    So i did a short flight yesterday. I was sitting on my back porch and only made it 771 meters before i started getting low transmission signals. I live out in the country and prolly only flew over one house. there has got to be some setting that i dont have right.
     
  20. Japruck81

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Saint Louis Mo
    This was how far i got when signal started dropping off
     

    Attached Files: