Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

WiFi constantly dropping out

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by 480sparky, Jul 25, 2014.

  1. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    Seems like 50% of the time, once I get over 300' away (up or out), I lose the wifi signal.

    I've tried different positions of the RE, but nothing seems to work. I still can control the bird, but I'm flying blind until I start bringing her back and re-acquire the signal.

    Seems I should be getting more range than a measly 300'. Tonight, while flying, I lost the signal at 166 out.
     
  2. Assgoblin

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am also having the same problem. I was suspect of my iphone being the problem but I have seen a few posts that make me think that maybe its the wifi extender. I have not flown it out away from all houses and electronics to see if it gets better but I also notice on youtube that people are always flying them in the same type of area's that I am but they don't seem to be having the same wifi dropouts that I do. frustrating
     
  3. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    I had the same problem until today. I tried to put my Android Note III in airplane mode and it never lost connection with wifi. SO far, this is my fix!
     
  4. Catalina36

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Antonio
    +1 That was my fix too.
     
  5. mmauchline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm in airplane mode with v+ booster app and I'm still getting pixelated video and or frozen screens for a sec or two...annoying! Moto X BTW...any suggestions?
     
  6. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    I also just now took apart the gimble off of the supporters so I could get a better hands on the 3 connectors. I took them off and blew air inside and then reassembled. I did a video test in the house ( Last time the video was horrible ) This time it was flawless. Now off to test in the air. I will report back
     
  7. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    Well, after 6 flights in Airplane Mode, 3 of 'em had the wireless lost at 400'.

    So I'm still open to ideas.
     
  8. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    I just upgraded everything with the new firmware that just came out so I am going to go test and see what happens
     
  9. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    Did the new firmware fix this?
     
  10. 480sparky

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2014
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    120
    No.
     
  11. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    sadly, no. The only thing it fixed for me was the J hook, it doesn't do it anymore. But as far as quality on FPV, I can't use 640, its still choppy and it's no change. This really irritates me. I used another phone and it did the same exact thing as well.
     
  12. dannytroy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    I use an Android device and there is an advanced menu in the wifi setup. I forgot the exact wording, but you basically want to turn off "search for networks". When I made this change I no longer had trouble staying connected to the Phantom.
     
  13. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Can you tell me what you do have checked? I just made changes and everything is off, only thing that is on is "Always" with Keep wifi on during sleep....other than that, everything is NOT checked in advanced.

    Thanks
     
  14. dannytroy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    I'm using the Epson Moverio glasses, which is Android based. I just checked and in the wifi settings page, go to advanced settings (on my screen it's a menu accessed by clicking on a link on the upper right of screen) and uncheck "Network notification". I also added a 9db antenna, so that helped also.
     
  15. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    I really want to do the FPVLR antennas, I am sure that will help a lot, still just sucks that we have to go through this. Thank you for your help, that was already unchecked.
     
  16. PhilAnderson

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Living In The Woods Of Beautiful Bonney Lake, WA
    I do not know if this will help or not, but it helped me. I have a Samsung Galaxy S4, AT&T for carrier. I turned off AT&T Smart Wi-Fi app and now have not had any loss of FPV since.
     
  17. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    Thank you for that. I don't use it but will uninstall it and try, thank you. I'll report back
     
  18. dannytroy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Westchester County, New York
    You might want to try the booster app, if you don't already have it. I found it definitely gives me increased range. There is a pro version also, with added features, but the basic app will work if you only want wifi boosting.
     
  19. Jeffin916

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Roseville, CA
    am happy yet still highly frustrated. Good news, no more J hook for me on my P2V+, flies straight now! Bad news, I still cannot get FPV in 640 on my Android Note 3. Its choppy and it freezes. 320 works but quality is horrible!
     
  20. BigPig

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just wondering if this is still an issue, as its one reason I returned my original PV. Looking at possibly purchasing the PV+ but what's the point if wifi is constantly in and out and I can't see the video on my phone?