Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why won't follow me mode follow me???

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Dronego, Apr 11, 2016.

  1. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Hi all, the other day I decided to put the bird in follow me mode while walking along a bush track. I set the altitude at 20 feet and offset about 30 feet to my right, I started the walk no worries it was focussed on me and following me without a problem. After a short while I noticed it had stopped and was just hovering there but still moving on its axis to remain focused.
    I had to turn off the feature and bring it over to me then reactive the mode. When I started walking it would not follow, I tried this a few times and eventually gave up.
    Any ideas on what caused it to stop following??


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. AngryBird

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Did you use DJI GO app?
    It could be your tablet/phone fault. It could lost satellites for a second among bushes.
     
  3. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Hi Angrybird, yes using DJI GO app
    All the trees there were quite low about 10 feet.
    I wondered if it had something to do with the home point, although I did reset it to my new location but no good.
    I'm using IPhone 6 Plus and I tryed resetting everything, must be one of those mysteries


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. AngryBird

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Does it happen always you try "Follow me" ?
     
  5. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    1,177
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    You're not walking into a NFZ are you?
     
  6. Alan Russel

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2015
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    Australia
    I know follow me mode does not work with a ipad.
     
  7. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Minimum height is 32 feet. F Mode won't start any lower.
     
  8. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry maybe it was higher, it started working so the minimum distance must have been set


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    I have not been able to try it again, as the weather has been crap. I have only used it on shorter distances and it worked fine, this was the first time I tried it over a longer distance. It got to 487mtrs when it stopped following.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Sorry everyone it was 20 mtrs high not 20 feet


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Follow me mode is _very_ dependent on the correct GPS location being sent from the display device and how often. So the number of satellites locked onto by the display device is very important. I've used by Samsung Galaxy S5 phone and saw a few GPS lock errors. I've also used by Nvidia Shield and almost never seen an error.
     
  12. Foxtrot Uniform

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Coastal SC
    Good to know! always wondered why follow me mode never worked!
     
  13. EddieM

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    25
    Location:
    Sanford, FL
    I believe it should if it's an iPad WiFi+cellular. I understand the WiFi only doesn't have GPS which is required for follow me. I'll find out soon as soon as I get my iPad mount for the RC.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Dronego

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    30
    Does anyone one know why the iPad doesn't work?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app