Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why is P3 Standard range way less than P2V+?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by sbarton, Jan 11, 2016.

  1. sbarton

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    NJ
    The Phantom 2 Vision+ had decent range. How come the P3 Standard doesn't have similar range?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    The P3 Standard range is greater. Check out the P2V+ specs here.
     
  3. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    The Vision+ range was listed as 800m compared to the Standard rating of 1000m.

     
  4. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    My P3S replacement seams to better than my lost P2V+, My P3S had a distance problem shortly after firmware update, that's why I said replacement.
     
  5. dannyboy75

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    3
    OP - are you in the US or UK? If the latter, you can't use FCC mode on the P3 as it's done on location - there's no way to override it.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Both use wifi tech.

    P3S is 720 @ 30fps = bigger bucket
    P2V+ is 480p @ 30fps = smaller bucket (you can drop this to lower res and lower fps to get more distance).

    higher rate data means less distance.
    lower rate of data means more distance.
    Its quicker to fill (compile) a 480p bucket (frame) then it is to fill a 720p bucket.

    Think of watching youtube. The higher resolution videos take longer to buffer.

    Another thing they can do is improve compression by using a different video codec. This will lower the bandwidth. Think of H.264 vs H265 video.
     
  7. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    I thought the question was based on remote control distance not quality and or distance of video image? Please correct me if I am wrong.