Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why is my P3P only recording 30mbps in 4k?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by henrydavis, Apr 21, 2016.

  1. henrydavis

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been flying my P3P for months in 4k and it has been recording in 60mbps. My app did update itself recently (no idea how that happened). So I finally took it down to Florida on vacation and captured some awesome ocean and beach footage. Then, when I got home to view it, I noticed the file sizes are smaller than average and upon checking the video info, it captured everything in 30mbps. To say I'm a little upset is an understatement. I checked the setting in the DJI Go app and everything looks correct. Any ideas?

    Here's a screenshot of one of the video properties:

    [​IMG]

    Thanks.
     
  2. Roamer105

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    25
    I had that problem after doing the prior to this last firmware upgrade. Ended up loading the older firmware again and then repeated the upgrade. That solved the problem.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
  4. henrydavis

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not frames per second, but megabits per second.

    I have never upgraded the firmware on my P3P. I only use the iPad for flying and don't know how it updated to the newest software, but it did. I'm beyond floored that it only captured at 30mbps.
     
  5. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    1,401
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    It's been a long week.... :) I see 4k and 30/60 and just think fps.

    Thanks for the correction.
     
  6. mnewxcv

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    65
    OP, try this. I have the latest firmware and just checked my videos shot yesterday, and they are 60Mbps. I didn't have this issue but I can vouch it isn't the firmware itself.