Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

why is it some Vids posted carry sound

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Mooky, Apr 19, 2015.

  1. Mooky

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Hawkes Bay, New Zealand
    I have noticed that some Videos posted carry the sound of their Phantom. Is there a built in Mic that I haven't found yet or this this an extra purchased?
     
    Milly likes this.
  2. jasonnelson007

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    10
  3. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    The phantom Vision 2 + or its predecessor does not have a built in mic. Go Pro cameras record sound as they have a built in mic. Most people do not want to record the sound of the 'drone' - Because I wanted to record sound and still wanted the convenience of having a Go Pro on a Vision 2+ I converted a Vision 2+ by removing its original DJI camera and installing a Go Pro Hero 4 with gimbal. Go Pro's have fisheye but this can be eliminated using a aftermarket lens..
     
  4. Ezookiel

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Canberra Australia
    Funnily enough, I tend to edit my videos so that, from just before I start the props, through to them spooling up and the bird taking flight, the sound slowly fades out, and music slowly fades in. I then end the videos in the reverse, with the sound of the props slowly fading back in as the music fades out, and then stop the video just as the props cut out totally.
    So I like the sound being recorded, but don't use a lot of it.
     
  5. Milly

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Wick, Caithness, Highlands of Scotland
    That's answered a question for me as well.
     
  6. gary1968

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    @mohan, can you tell me how you changed the v+ gimbal to aftermarket and what you used?

    Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo
     
  7. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    There is the easy way (expensive solution by dronexpert) and the harder way (cheap solution by the R&D enthusiasts at the RC forum ). You make your choice depending on your technical skills

    I chose to do the easy way as I wanted a quick way to swap back the original DJI camera

    http://dronexpert.nl/?product=pre-order-quickrelease-dronin-for-dji-phantom-2-vision
     
  8. gary1968

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thnx mohan, will bear this in mind if/when I break the std gimbal.

    Sent from my Vodafone Smart 4 turbo