Why is gimbal shuttering every 25 seconds?

Reaction score
I am a newbie with a P2 and Zenmuse that arrived yesterday. The gimbal "shutters" (vibrates) for 1-2 seconds every 25 seconds. It is very loud. The gimbal sounds like to it trying to tear itself apart. What is the gimbal trying to do? I don't have a GoPro installed, does that matter?

Should I worry, is the gimbal defective? Why is the gimbal vibrating every 25 seconds?

Which firmware version are you running? Mine stutters occasionally-but nothing like you described.
You must have the camera in it, while flying, or it will enter Hibernation.

Is there anything blocking the gimbal from moving normally throughout it's range? Do you have any extra's attached to the camera-like a filter and adapter?
Current Firmware is 1.80

richparry said:
I am a newbie with a P2 and Zenmuse that arrived yesterday. The gimbal "shutters" (vibrates) for 1-2 seconds every 25 seconds. It is very loud. The gimbal sounds like to it trying to tear itself apart. What is the gimbal trying to do? I don't have a GoPro installed, does that matter?

Should I worry, is the gimbal defective? Why is the gimbal vibrating every 25 seconds?

If you turn on the Phantom without the GoPro in the gimbal it does that noise.
Btw. I read somewhere that you should NOT turn on the Phantom without camera, apparently it could damage the gimbal.
Put the camera in and the shutters will be gone.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

While I intended to purchase a GoPro, I saw no urgency, so I did not purchase the GoPro. I sure hope it isn't a requirement. I thought I should concentrate on learning how to fly the Phantom before worrying about video.

Regarding software version question, I'll have to check.

richparry said:
While I intended to purchase a GoPro, I saw no urgency, so I did not purchase the GoPro. I sure hope it isn't a requirement. I thought I should concentrate on learning how to fly the Phantom before worrying about video.