Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why is gimbal shuttering every 25 seconds?

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by richparry, Feb 5, 2014.

  1. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I am a newbie with a P2 and Zenmuse that arrived yesterday. The gimbal "shutters" (vibrates) for 1-2 seconds every 25 seconds. It is very loud. The gimbal sounds like to it trying to tear itself apart. What is the gimbal trying to do? I don't have a GoPro installed, does that matter?

    Should I worry, is the gimbal defective? Why is the gimbal vibrating every 25 seconds?
     
  2. havasuphoto

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,284
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Lake Havasu, AZ
    Which firmware version are you running? Mine stutters occasionally-but nothing like you described.
    You must have the camera in it, while flying, or it will enter Hibernation.

    Is there anything blocking the gimbal from moving normally throughout it's range? Do you have any extra's attached to the camera-like a filter and adapter?
    Current Firmware is 1.80
     
  3. Miniflexalex

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you turn on the Phantom without the GoPro in the gimbal it does that noise.
    Btw. I read somewhere that you should NOT turn on the Phantom without camera, apparently it could damage the gimbal.
    Put the camera in and the shutters will be gone.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  4. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    While I intended to purchase a GoPro, I saw no urgency, so I did not purchase the GoPro. I sure hope it isn't a requirement. I thought I should concentrate on learning how to fly the Phantom before worrying about video.

    Regarding software version question, I'll have to check.
     
  5. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    It's definitely a requirement if you're going to use Zenmuse gimbal. You can still fly your Phantom - just not with the gimbal on it.
     
  6. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    So it appears I need to install a GoPro if the gimbal is connected. I solution then is to remove the gimbal while I learn to fly. Looks like I can remove the gimbal by removing 4 Phillips head screws, is that right?
     
  7. Miniflexalex

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's right, just take off the four screws, unplug the gimbal and use some tape to stick the cable to the belly of the P2.

    Once done, go out and rip it.




    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
     
  8. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Thanks to all that replied. I have successfully removed the gimbal. I have also ordered a Hero 3+ which I didn't want to do now.

    I believe it is a very poor design to require the GoPro. Let's say you want your wife or friend to fly it or you are worried about a Fly Away, I would rather loose $800 (P2) than twice that with the gimbal and GoPro.

    Or let's say you want to have less weight to increase flight time, what was DJI thinking?

    I almost can't believe the GoPro is a requirement.
     
  9. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Gimbals are pretty sensitive to weight & balance. The Zenmuse is balanced to handle the GoPro. Most gimbals require some weight if not exact equivilant of camera. If you check Ebay and other shops, there are gimbals for GoPro 3 but not GoPro 2 because of dimensions and weight. I think we all agree that incase of flyaway - yes it is an investment, but it's one we play by.
     
  10. richparry

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I understand the gimbal is a precision instrument with strict weight and size requirements to work properly, but I don't understand why it rattled like it was trying to tear itself apart. If was very loud and scary and would not stop.
     
  11. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
  12. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,910
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    The only purpose of the gimbal is to balance the camera. And all gimbals need to be balanced in order to work properly otherwise the motors get overworked. So you've done the right thing by removing it until you get your GoPro.