Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why does the DJI Phantom 3 Compass Hardware Fail?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Mario_SB, Jul 11, 2016.

  1. Mario_SB

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, USA
    Does anyone have any experiencing with the P3 compass failing and requiring a replacement? Or does anyone have experience with the compass not working and then suddenly working in and around the same environment? I'm interested to seeing how many compass failures exist that are NOT related to the usual enviromental conditions that prevent a successful calibration.
     
  2. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    None for me, unless I try to calibrate my drones compass in the house. Then I get the verbal assault.. Haha
    The fix, simply hold it a little higher, over my head. Not!! ;-)
    For safe and proper procedure: The Phantom 3 compass must be calibrated out of doors, well away from any ferrous metal or electrical current interference. Don't stand on or near any ant hills either, while calibrating. Or you will exerience an excruciating discovery. Ha

    RedHotPoker
     
    ROD PAINTER likes this.
  3. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Those are situations that have never taken place that I'm aware of. It seems the issue have more so been due to improper calibrations. And probably not calibrating after bring the compass on the landing gear near metal that has corrupted the settings. It has been said over time that even a pocket full of coins can interfere with the compass settings.

    I know if I even suspect I may have screwed up the setting somehow, I will not wait for a message to say I should calibrate, I'll just go ahead a do it and get it behind me.

    Now if you doubt your ability to do a proper calibration, then as a option, you might consider going to msinger's phantomhelp site and learning how to do it because it is an important process. Btw, all P3 calibrations are for that matter.
     
    #3 flyNfrank, Jul 11, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2016
  4. Northern Observer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    20
    Yes, a compass error happens virtually every flight, it does not matter if I calibrate it or not. Nor is it site specific. I do believe though it is related to yaw rates while maneuvering in slightly higher wind speeds.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    If that was my aircraft there would be noway I would be flying it. When you see a compass error, you kind of need to look at it as if it was a flatline on a heart monitor. In other words land it asap.

    I can try to help you out if you like. You will need a little patients. also know that you will likely get numberous people adding their input to the issue. In that case it is generally good to pay attention to those with a early join date in most cases.

    To begin with are you able to upload a TXT file from one of the most recent flight that displayed a compass issue? Are you familiar with that process? Btw, rather then jackin someone elses thread you can do this by posting your own thread, or by sending me a "Conversation" notice.
     
  6. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,695
    Likes Received:
    3,424
    An actual hardware eror for the compass is extremely rare.
    The only issues I've ever heard of are broken or disconnected compass cables.
    It's usually a mistake to consider a compass error as a compass failure.
     
  7. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Back in the early days of FC40/P2 the cable was a bit hit and miss in it socket.
     
  8. Vertigo

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    147
    The sensor (and possibly other parts of the quad) might become magnetized. For instance if you put it in your car trunk next to a large subwoofer. You can always try degaussing it, if you have a degausser.

    If you dont have one, tape a strong rare earth magnet to a drill tip and spin it fast in close proximity of the compass. Then use the technique explained here:
    How to Degauss a Computer Monitor

    Im not responsible for any consequences, but IMO doing this is probably more useful than re calibrating every day.
     
    #8 Vertigo, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
    Reed L and flyNfrank like this.
  9. AlexSP

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2015
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    237
    I've never, ever experienced a compass error with any of my DJI drones. Sometimes I'm taking off from a concrete slab or other interference source and it tells me to move the AC elsewhere but that's it, I just find another launchpad and it's good to go again.

    My oldest P3P has almost 400 flights and zero issues. Last time I did a compass cal was in 2015, almost a yr ago in fact. Same to other quads. I've traveled a lot with it during this time since it's easier to carry around and set up/takeoff than the I1, still I don't ever calibrate and it just fly beautifully every time. The numbers are OK as well so I leave it as it is.
     
    kirk2579 likes this.
  10. Mario_SB

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, USA
    Meta -- I cannot explain how I have not been able to calibrate the compass in the last two months (same location as always) and then for the compass to all of a sudden start working again.
     
  11. Imabiggles

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    84
    screwed up the compass in my P1 when I used a screwdriver with a strong magnet in it to attached it to the wider legs I purchased. I had a spare, but the one I screwed up eventually degaussed itself and worked on retracts I put it one. I couldnt calibrate it when it was magnetized, but could later when I used it again.
     
  12. kenipod

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    can i use compass phantom 3 standard plug in phantom 3 advance? Do it work?


    compass 3 adv:
    [file]3adv|none[/file]

    compass 3s
    [file]3sss|none[/file]
     
    #12 kenipod, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
  13. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,211
    Likes Received:
    907
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Have you cross referenced the part numbers for a comparison of some kind? I have never had to replace the compass yet on my P3P. But just guessing....I would think the parts were the same in this case?
     
  14. Northern Observer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    20
    I'd be happy to provide a txt report to anyone who wishes to review it for compass issues.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. BudWalker

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    225
    Location:
    Santa Margarita, Ca
    Can you provide the .DAT instead? It's on the P3 not the tablet. Go here to see how to retrieve it. It'll be large so you'll need to provide a DropBox link or Google Drive link.
     
  16. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    What is your compass mod value after a calibration? I believe it should be in the 1400's.
    Mine is normally 1490.
     
  17. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,087
    Likes Received:
    312
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    A few thoughts. The compass consists of a tiny circuit board mounted in the bottom of one of the legs. These are not compasses like you used in the Boy Scouts, They have no moving parts. The 3 axis compass IC itself has resistive metal strips inside, arranged in such a way so as to sense the earth's magnetic field and strength. This data is placed in chip registers so as to be communicated to the main controller board. These chips are typically self degaussing. Pilots calibrate their Phantoms in a few different ways. Some hold the bird out in front of them, and spin. Some just spin the bird itself. So let's say you are wearing a watch, or have a phone or coins in your pocket, or have the controller hanging from you neck. This metal can affect the calibration. How do you hold your Phantom during calibration? Is your sweaty hand covering or near that compass in the leg? When I calibrate, which is rare, I make sure there is no metal nearby, and I am not carrying any. Hold the bird away from your body. Manipulate the bird while avoiding holding it near the compass area. Go slowly, give that compass chip time to get a good "read" on the earth's magnetic field.
     
    Mario_SB likes this.
  18. fastfed

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    161

    Is there a way to check if its ok? you say the #'s are good, but how do you check?

    I stopped calibrating everytime I fly now since it was told to not do this.

    but I'd like the peace of mind knowing its ok, how do I make sure of this ?

    Thanks
     
  19. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Look under sensors in the go app.
     
  20. Northern Observer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2014
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    20
    What blows me away, on known flights with compass issues healthy drones says all is well regarding the compass. "No issues found Yay"