Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why did this Drone lose signal!?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MichaelAxelKlose, May 26, 2015.

  1. MichaelAxelKlose

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Orono
    Went to my buddy's to show him the quadcopter and lifted it up over Oshawa, Ontario Canada. I've gone way higher than this without signal loss but today it went into fail safe mode and returned home. Unfortunately there was limited space in the backyard and the tree's canopy basically covered the whole yard. Later I noticed an airport in the distance! Is it possible it lost signal from being in their air space? Please share your thoughts as why this UAV lost it's signal. Thanks for your input, much appreciated!

     
  2. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Hard to say, maybe antenae orientation?

    The airport looks too far away to be a factor, but my question to you is why didn't you take back control instead of letting your bird land in trees?
     
  3. MichaelAxelKlose

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Orono
    How do you do that? I was trying to control it but it kept it's course.
     
  4. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,350
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    S1 switch GPS to ATTI to GPS

    if and only if Naza mode enabled. If still in Phantom mode disregard...
     
  5. djphantom2015

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    24
    Wonder why are you flying so near to an airport anyway!
     
  6. MichaelAxelKlose

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2014
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Orono
    Didn't know it was there until I saw the footage later unfortunately.
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,477
    That's all in the manual.
    It works whether you are in Naza mode
    [​IMG]