Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Why can't i get high?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by JonnyBenson, Aug 25, 2016.

  1. JonnyBenson

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    What are the reasons behind a weak signal? I can only seem to get between 80m and 150m before i lose signal and RTH kicks in.

    Sent from my LG-H850 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    Are you flying directly above your position? How are your RC antennas positioned?
     
  3. JonnyBenson

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    I've tried directly above and i always try to point the antenna at the drone.

    Sent from my LG-H850 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. neven

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia, Europe
    This will help you:

     
    Ridgekid and JonnyBenson like this.
  5. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    3,439
    Flying straight up above you is always the trickiest angle for getting a good signal and you get to a point where it just doesn't work.
    Try going out and up and pay attention to antenna orientation from the DJI video above.
     
    JonnyBenson likes this.
  6. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    The drone is not really setup to fly right over you that well, you can get away with it a little if you move your antenna parallel to the ground. It's is set up better to fly out away from you, than you can gain some altitude. Than the antenna should be kept vertical with the craft out in front of you, not above.
     
    JonnyBenson likes this.
  7. JonnyBenson

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    So how far and how high should a p3s go straight from the box, just out of curiosity?
     
  8. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,236
    Likes Received:
    1,612
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    'Straight from the box' would seem to imply 'Beginner Mode' is active. This is a 30 meter radius from take-off location and 30 meters in altitude.

    Once that is disabled the you have unlimited horizontal distance and 500 meters vertical.
    This does not consider antenna orientation or other radio issues by trying to fly directly overhead.
     
    JonnyBenson likes this.
  9. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Think he was asking what the realistic distances were, not the theoretical ones.
    In CE mode, up to 500meters. In FCC mode 1000 meters out. These are just ballparks for you, in reality it could be less or a bit more.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    JonnyBenson likes this.
  10. JonnyBenson

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    500m is a dream for me. I can only get between 100m & 200m.
     
    Ridgekid likes this.
  11. sinxa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    It depends on many factors, such as wifi noises arround you, obstacles, weather, magnetic field etc. I can easily get 1km in the remote vilage among farm field. But it is hard to get through more than 200mtrs arround my house.
    And all of those explanations above are correct. It rather tricky to perfectly gain signal when you fly the craft above you directly. But its gonna easier when you manage your position so there is an angle 30-45 degrees from horizon between the controller and the craft.
     
    JonnyBenson and Storm like this.
  12. k_ogre

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Best iv'e done is 1093ft could do more but the FAA would break down my door lol
     
  13. JonnyBenson

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    1km up? I was on a farm yesterday and lost the signal about 150m.
     
    sinxa likes this.
  14. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Than you must have a FW or hardware issue. What FW is your drone on?
     
  15. sinxa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    No. . . I didn't meant to say 1km up. As i said before that i have no purpose of doing vertical flight right above my head.
    I was saying 1km distance with the 150meters altitude. If i increase the altitude, i believe i will gain more than 1km distance.

    Sent from my SCL23 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Msvet likes this.
  16. Pharm

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2016
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    257
    Why would the FAA break down your door for flying 1093 ft away? Remember, the posts ahead of yours are referring to distance, not altitude.
     
  17. k_ogre

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    no pharm they are about height and here in the USA 400ft is the legal height limit. and when someone puts lol after a line it's a joke.
     
  18. JonnyBenson

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2016
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Where do i find that info?
     
  19. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    768
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    With everything powered up. Go to the Go app, go to the about tab, it's there. The app ver# and FW ver#.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using PhantomPilots mobile app