Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

who is using android with mavic?

Discussion in 'Mavic Discussion' started by Greenenvey, Oct 6, 2016.

  1. Greenenvey

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    7
    is anyone else using a android phone when they get the mavic? I'm getting a little worried after reading several threads about 6.0 not working with dji go. anyone else worried about this?
     
  2. darkneo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    I have an Android phone and the DJI Go app has always worked perfectly. I'm currently on Android 7.0 and it works.
     
  3. dmarlin247

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    20
    I have also used my S7edge with no issues but i also read people that were having issues were sometimes corrected by enabling Developer options and switching USB to MTP
     
    kmaluo likes this.
  4. Alex Baxter

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    97
    Location:
    County Kilkenny, Ireland
    2014 Nexus 6 running Android 7, no problems..
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Note 7 android 6.0.1.. Phone battery explodes everytime i use Go app =)
     
    mikeroycollins, Kilrah, kony and 2 others like this.
  6. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,544
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Odd... everyone above already has the Mavic?
     
    romi likes this.
  7. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    Having switched to a Samsung s7 Edge from iPhone recently I am hoping to use android with the Mavic, although I will need to use my old iPhone at times for Autopilot.

    Not strictly related but do any of you long term Android users know how to move the DJI GO media files over to SD Card? I am thinking the video cache and I use it with an Osmo Mobile and it saves it all to the phone memory which is pitifully small?
     
  8. darkneo

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2016
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    His question was whose using an Android phone "when" they get the Mavic...
     
    kmaluo likes this.
  9. scottoftheforest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    8
    I was hoping for an easy answer to your Android SD card storage too. I use a 32 gig Note 4 for Osmobile and have to manually move files to the card when doing much in the way of shooting and I've been doing some light poking around looking for a way to default the initial storage to the card, and so far haven't found anything.

    If I do, I'll reply to this thread, and perhaps you would do likewise. Loving the Osmo Mobile (have an Osmo too).

    I'm suddenly hooked on Motion Lapse, though head scratching that it never lets me set up for anything longer than 20 minutes.

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. sdharris

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    South West, England
    I have an answer to your 20 minute time limit as I ran into the same issue. The duration is dependent on the amount of movement between your start point and end point, also helps if you have more than two points. I think they have a minimum 'speed' in order to keep it smooth. Hope that helps.

    And yup, I will reply back here if I find a solution to the storage location.

    Sorry for hijacking the thread everyone.
     
  11. scottoftheforest

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2015
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    8
    Beautiful! Thank you. Figured it was related to lack of available memory on the phone internal drive. Much appreciated - love it when it's fixable with know how instead of hardware deficiencies.

    Sent from my SM-N910W8 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    530
    Won't be a problem.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots
     
  13. Biggle

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have an S7 Edge and I too thought my phone was OK... until it rebooted mid flight.
     
  14. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,544
    Likes Received:
    1,394
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    That _is_ the question... yet many people were commenting that the Go app works just fine on Android.
     
  15. DroneDad

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Southern California
    To move the files over, go to your Gallery; select the folder where they're currently stored; Select "More" in the top right corner; select "Edit"; select the videos you want to move; select "More" again; then "Move to album". Either create a new one on your SD card or make one before you start this process. That easy. Hope it helps.