Who gave input to the current regulations?

Reaction score
Hello all,

First post for me, and I will try to not make it a long rant ;)

My background and where I am coming from. I have been flying RC since the mid 1970's, I have done a few helos, and started doing multirotors about 6 years ago. Aerial imaging / photography / videography was not a draw for me, I just wanted to fly stuff. And while I had put cameras on various platforms (going back to a 126 film camera on a Sr Telemaster), that was just experimenting a few times, not something I did regularly. And when FAA registration started in Dec of 2015 I registered. That was actually the first time I learned the 5 mile around an airport limit, prior to that I knew not to fly near them, but did not know a "real" defined limit, not sure if it had always been 5 miles or not.

I registered in Dec 2015, learned the 5 mile limit, and realized I had two airfields near me that might be a factor. A quick trip to Google Earth and their measuring tools showed me nope, I was just outside one airfields area, and well outside the other. I live on a few acres here in the desert, and there is open desert for miles on two sides of my property, so I often fly from my yard.

All was good, I was compliant to the regs...and then I bought a P4 last weekend. Rather, my wife bought me one. I get it home, charge up a couple of batteries, load the app on my Tab 4, and fire it all up inside the house to learn the menus. Not turning the props, just turned on the electronics and learning where things are. No GPS signal in the house, but did not expect it, the rest of the setup really intrigued me, this is really nice. So out in the yard I go, for the maiden flight.

I was surprised when I got an alert that I was in Class D airspace and I would have to override and acknowledge before it would let me take off.