Which Transmitter?

Reaction score
Need a bit of help from the people who know.

I'm still a bit of a newbie but I'm slowly starting to find my feet. I have been looking at new transmitters with the Futaba 8J catching my eye. I initially liked the idea that the stock transmitter had the joysticks spring loaded but I'm now thinking that's not such a good idea. This is probably my main reason for wanting to change, I feel it will give me a smoother more controlled flight. Added to this the fact you can program it to suit your needs makes it very appealing.

I've also seen the Turnigy 9x which seems to be a good £100 cheaper than the above. Is this a lot cheaper for a reason or is it just as capable of doing the job? I'm I likely to run into difficulties if I make the change? Will the Phantom be much harder to fly with a different transmitter? Am I being to ambitious and trying to run before I can walk? I have been flying now for around 4 months so I'm not totally green.

Questions, questions, over to you lot then...

weephillie said:
Need a bit of help from the people who know.

I'm still a bit of a newbie but I'm slowly starting to find my feet. I have been looking at new transmitters with the Futaba 8J catching my eye. I initially liked the idea that the stock transmitter had the joysticks spring loaded but I'm now thinking that's not such a good idea. This is probably my main reason for wanting to change, I feel it will give me a smoother more controlled flight. Added to this the fact you can program it to suit your needs makes it very appealing.

I've also seen the Turnigy 9x which seems to be a good £100 cheaper than the above. Is this a lot cheaper for a reason or is it just as capable of doing the job? I'm I likely to run into difficulties if I make the change? Will the Phantom be much harder to fly with a different transmitter? Am I being to ambitious and trying to run before I can walk? I have been flying now for around 4 months so I'm not totally green.