Which P3 Advanced Firmware is right for me?

Reaction score
Hello,

I am new to the drone world and picked up my P3A about 2 weeks ago. After spending a week reading/learning about it I began flying it. Although given the warnings that I need to update the firmware (apparently there are battery issues) I flew it a couple times (nothing further than 100 m away 40 m altitutde). So now here I am trying to update the bird, rc and my 2 batteries but I am not sure which firmware to upgrade it to. I have read that you should wait to see if the new fw isn't crap by reading reviews on phantompilots and the dji forum but I find little to no info on the v1.9.6 update.

To make a long story short: which fw should I update to?

Currently at:

App 2.8.5 (iphone 6)
Aircraft 1.5.30
RC 1.5.70

I will be following step for step on the link
P3 Firmware - HOW TO: Install Phantom 3 firmware

Thank you !

The current firmware is stable, so it's safe to install it.

Reactions: Pharm
Check this forum for a few days after a new released to see if anyone reports new issues. When all goes well, some people often post that feedback here as well.

The current firmware is stable, so it's safe to install it.
I have read several postings here saying the OPs got ESC error after upgrading to 1.9.60. One of them sent the P3 to DJI and it was returned woking after hardware repair. Any idea what is going on here? Does 1.9.60 possibly uncover latent hardware problems?

I have read several postings here saying the OPs got ESC error after upgrading to 1.9.60. One of them sent the P3 to DJI and it was returned woking after hardware repair. Any idea what is going on here? Does 1.9.60 possibly uncover latent hardware problems?

I did the firmware install this morning with no issues at all. Will be flying later today, hopefully with no issues.

I did the firmware install this morning with no issues at all. Will be flying later today, hopefully with no issues.