Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Which P3 Advanced Firmware is right for me?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by nsheridan19, Jul 31, 2016.

Tags:
  1. nsheridan19

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hello,

    I am new to the drone world and picked up my P3A about 2 weeks ago. After spending a week reading/learning about it I began flying it. Although given the warnings that I need to update the firmware (apparently there are battery issues) I flew it a couple times (nothing further than 100 m away 40 m altitutde). So now here I am trying to update the bird, rc and my 2 batteries but I am not sure which firmware to upgrade it to. I have read that you should wait to see if the new fw isn't crap by reading reviews on phantompilots and the dji forum but I find little to no info on the v1.9.6 update.

    To make a long story short: which fw should I update to?

    Currently at:

    App 2.8.5 (iphone 6)
    Aircraft 1.5.30
    RC 1.5.70

    I will be following step for step on the link
    P3 Firmware - HOW TO: Install Phantom 3 firmware

    Thank you !
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    The current firmware is stable, so it's safe to install it.
     
    Pharm likes this.
  3. nsheridan19

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Okay thanks. In the future what would be the best way to verify that the fw was stable?
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    Check this forum for a few days after a new released to see if anyone reports new issues. When all goes well, some people often post that feedback here as well.
     
    noki49 and nsheridan19 like this.
  5. BayouBill

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2016
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    57
    I have read several postings here saying the OPs got ESC error after upgrading to 1.9.60. One of them sent the P3 to DJI and it was returned woking after hardware repair. Any idea what is going on here? Does 1.9.60 possibly uncover latent hardware problems?
     
  6. nsheridan19

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did the firmware install this morning with no issues at all. Will be flying later today, hopefully with no issues.
     
  7. ElGuapo

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Burbank, CA
    Let us know how it goes with the latest fw update. For me it created disconnect issues with the RC at relatively short distances (100 ft high and 90 ft away), didn't have that problem b4 fw upgrade.
     
  8. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Note that if you went to 1.8 or higher on the AC, you'll also need to be at 1.6 on the RC. Good luck sir. Cheers!
     
    JoBe likes this.
  9. Rommel

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    17
    My P3A came with 1.9.60 and I'm very happy with it.
    Heard a rumor dji scaled back range to make the P4 look better. My range outperforms my battery so I'm good there
     
    monkeychops likes this.
  10. nsheridan19

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Only issue I have so far is that after I did the IMU calibration once the fw was upgraded it now takes alot longer (30 seconds?) for the drone to "warm up." Before the fw upgrade I don't think it even gave me the message that it was warming up.
     
  11. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,534
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Many people do a cold IMU cal to reduce the warm up time. There are arguments for and against doing that, so research it a bit and do what's best for you. Cheers!
     
    JoBe and nsheridan19 like this.
  12. nsheridan19

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    6
    Yeah I heard that people put it in the freezer and stuff? But yeah I will check it out thanks
     
  13. Xyenz Fyxion

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    Hi, all.

    Are there any restrictions added in the new Firmware? I just bought a used Phantom 3 Pro, and the firmware for the AC + RC both could be updated. I heard a rumor that it could take away some of the freedom that I have in the current versions. So, I just want to know.

    Thanks!

    --
    P3P
    App Version 2.8.6
    Aircraft Version 1.5.30+
    Remote Controller Version 1.6.0
     
  14. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    What kind of freedom?
     
  15. Xyenz Fyxion

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brooklyn
    I don't know, and that's why I am asking. I don't know what the limits are of the DJI GO App or software. The seller was vague with his comment.
     
  16. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    Ah. Well, I'm not aware of any freedom that'll be lost either. It sounds like some kind of urban legend ;)
     
    BayouBill likes this.
  17. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    You know...Freedom!

     
  18. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    As far as freedom goes, If you update the firmware from the 1.5.3 that you have, you will be losing some speed and adding the geo-fencing system. The camera will be the same also but I believe that the 1.5.3 version was also from before the Follow me and some other modes were brought in by DJI. I'm not positive on this though. So you will be adding geo-fencing but really, unless you are flying around airports, it's not a big deal. 1.5.30+ to me looks like you may have 1.6.4 on the ac but check the version with all of the batteries. You may have a battery that hasn't been updated that is giving you the +. I had this on mine as well and found the battery that hadn't been updated to the 1.6.4 that I was running and all of a sudden I was running the 1.5.3+. Not a normal problem to say the least :)
    So really the only freedom lost would be the acceleration speed and crispness of the rc as far as I remember. It just takes longer to get up to the speeds. I haven't updated since I bought mine, so you will need to do some reading on the different changes that have been implemented since October of last year when the 1.5.3 update was fixed and finalized.
     
  19. mikesmiley

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2016
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    If you knowingly choose not to run the current firmware, you sort of give up the right to demand any sort of technical support should you have issues.
     
  20. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    Got a source to back that up?
     
    Reed L likes this.