Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Which main board is best

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Seedler, Feb 22, 2014.

  1. Seedler

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I have a phantom 1.1.1. Was considering installing the upgrade board so I can create a canbus port. My question is can I just install the phantom 2 board? Both are around the same price but the phantom 2 board already has a canbus socked fitted.

    This would be the simpler option for creating canbus, but am I rite? :)

    Thanks,

    Damien.
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    If you install the P2 board you'll need the P2 case and battery too.
     
  3. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    This a good question. A few people have replaced their P2 Naza with a Naza-M V2, which is pretty close to what you're proposing.

    I assume the P2 board is marginally heavier than the upgrade board because of the extra logic for battery, fan, ESC connections. The P2 board will get you native C ANbus, but the on-board ESC connections will be useless. The footprint of the P1 board fits in a P2 shell, so I assume the P2 board fits in a P1 shell as well, though you'd need to confirm that.

    The mainboard has no logic for the smart battery, that's all in the P2 Naza. So you can use a P2 battery in any 11.1v device, regardless of mainboard.

    On the whole, I don't think the P2 board gets you very much over the upgrade board now that the upgrade board also has "free" CANbus. A lot of the extra supported features on the P2 mainboard needs P2 ESCs and NAZA, which are also more proprietary...
     
  4. Seedler

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah didn't know esc's and naza would need to be changed too. Upgrade board is best option then.

    Thanks for the reply.

    Damien.
     
  5. ElGuano

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    4
    To be clear, your Phantom 1 ESCs will work just fine with a P2 mainboard installed, the ESCs just need to plug directly into the NAZA like you are doing right now with the P1. The P2 board supports the newP2 ESCs with built-in status LEDs. Those ESCs plug into the mainboard, and the mainboard plugs into the Phantom-NAZA.You can't get the ESC LEDs working without a Phantom 2 mainboard and Phantom 2 NAZA.