Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    The P4 RC has a P-A-S switch now. The F mode is missing, which would normally enable 3rd party apps. Since F mode cannot be put into the Go app (since two apps can't run at the same time) to enable 3rd party apps, how do suppose 3 party apps will be turned on? I wonder if our friends at Litchi and Autopilot can chime in on this.

    When emailed DJI support about this their answer was "it's recommend to fly P4 with the Go app". Hmm.


    upload_2016-3-5_16-38-31.png
     
  2. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    !
    That's strange. I too saw the PAS switch, but forgot that 3rd party apps are F-mode. I thought DJI must have added a new menu in GO to use flight modes in P-mode.
     
  3. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    324
    DJI said you will access it through the app.
     
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    But two apps can't run at the same time, I thought. The idea of the switch is to immediately turn off autonomous mode with a flick of a switch to regain GPS mode at any time. Having to switch apps to turn off autonomous mode will take too long, I would think. Maybe S mode will allow F mode to enable in GO. Then just flick to P to disable autonomous mode.
     
    #4 John Locke, Mar 5, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 5, 2016
  5. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    324
    They changed the play button to a pause button on the controller that will pause any of the automatic flight modes
     
    Steven_Ewald likes this.
  6. AdvRider

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Isle of Palms, SC
    I've got my P4 on order.....but will likely be sending it back if something definitive is not soon announced to allow an HDMI headset to be connected....perhaps I have missed a thread and DJI is simply going to use their same P3A/Pro HDMI module on the P4? There may be a way do do the same thing using some kind of lightning cable splitter on the iPad output whereby the screen display becomes available to another hard wired HDMI device (like goggles.) I will just keep flying my P3 if I can't get some HDMI out on the P4.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    324

    Attached Files:

  8. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Strange this DJI blurb states there will be a PSF switch and I had DJI tell me there was a PSA switch on the P4 controller. I wonder which way it's going to be. To me it makes more sense to have a PSF switch and enable ATTI in the GO app.
     
  9. AdvRider

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Isle of Palms, SC
    Thanks for the follow up on DJI's plan to support HDMI out...I am excited about the P4 I have on order....the extra five minutes of flight time alone is a huge thing for me since much of my flying is over water in coastal and mountainous areas where wind can eat your reserves up quickly.
     
    Sinisalo likes this.
  10. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Yes, I think that makes more sense... S is kind of a better ATTI
     
  11. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    324
    Sport mode will use GPS and VPS, Atti does not. The P4 Controller will have a P S A switch.
     
  12. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,903
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Yeah, agreed. This info you provided from visual-aerials.com below isn't accurate. It clearly says in the DJI website it will be a PSA switch.

    So back to my question, where's F mode? If it's in the Go app, that's going to be an issue with third party apps since two apps cannot be running at the same time. I was hoping AutoFlight Logic would chime in on this since this affects them.
     

    Attached Files:

    #12 John Locke, Mar 6, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2016
  13. arizeda

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    23
    Interesting. Would also like to know


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    That statement ended rather abruptly... Was there more to be said?

    RedHotPoker
     
  15. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    80
    S mode does sound better, but I wonder what happens when GPS/Glonass are not available (which would be odd unless the sky is blocked by city or valley occlusions)?
     
  16. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    Not sure on the answer but we will find out.
     
  17. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    It looks like they are going to require P Mode to use the SDK instead of F, but only on the P4 (confusing). Here is the documentation:

    typedef NS_ENUM (uint8_t, DJIRCHardwareFlightModeSwitchState){
    /**
    * The Remote Controller's flight mode switch is set to the F (Function) mode. For the Phantom 3, Inspire 1 and M100 the remote controller must be in Function mode to enable Mission Manager functions from the Mobile Device. It is not supported by Phantom 4 (which must use P mode for the Mission Manager functions).
    * The Phantom 4 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled A, S, P from left to right.
    * The Phantom 3, Inspire 1 and M100 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled F, A, P from left to right.
    * Independent of label, any remote controller (P3, P4, Inspire 1, M100) used with the Phantom 3, Inspire 1 or M100 will report F mode as selected if the switch is set to the left position.
    */
    DJIRCHardwareFlightModeSwitchStateF,
    /**
    * The Remote Controller's flight mode switch is set to the A (Attitude) mode. Attitude mode does not use GPS and the vision system for hovering or flying, but uses the barometer to maintain alititude. If the GPS signal is strong enough, the aircraft can still return to home in this mode.
    * The Phantom 4 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled A, S, P from left to right.
    * The Phantom 3, Inspire 1 and M100 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled F, A, P from left to right.
    * Independent of label, any remote controller (P3, P4, Inspire 1, M100) used with the Phantom 4 will report A mode as selected if the switch is set to the left position.
    * Independent of label, any remote controller (P3, P4, Inspire 1, M100) used with the Phantom 3, Inspire 1 or M100 will report A mode as selected if the switch is set to the middle position.
    */
    DJIRCHardwareFlightModeSwitchStateA,
    /**
    * The Remote Controller's flight mode switch is set to the P (Positioning) mode. Positioning mode can use both GPS and the vision system (when available) to fly and hover. For the Phantom 4, P mode must be used to enable Mission Manager functions from the Mobile Device.
    * The Phantom 4 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled A, S, P from left to right.
    * The Phantom 3, Inspire 1 and M100 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled F, A, P from left to right.
    * Any remote controller (P3, P4, Inspire 1, M100) used with any aircraft will report P mode as selected if the switch is set to the right position.
    */
    DJIRCHardwareFlightModeSwitchStateP,
    /**
    * The Remote Controller's flight mode switch is set to the S (Sport) mode. Sport mode can use both GPS and the vision system (when available) to hover. Sport mode is only supported when using the Phantom 4.
    The Phantom 4 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled A, S, P from left to right.
    The Phantom 3, Inspire 1 and M100 remote controller flight mode switch is labelled F, A, P from left to right.
    Independent of label, any remote controller (P3, P4, Inspire 1, M100) used with the Phantom 4 will report S mode as selected if the switch is set to the middle position.
    */
    DJIRCHardwareFlightModeSwitchStateS
    };
     
  18. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    We are following up with DJI on this as we believe it has the potential to be confusing to users. Also, it is unclear as to if switching from P to A or S on the P4 will allow you to override Autopilot, and if so, if it will be without GPS assist.
     
  19. Kenneth Marsola

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    94

    HUH ??


    Thanks for the reply, but what does it mean for the technically challenged.
     
  20. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    In other words, whereas now you have to switch to F to enable third-party apps, the P4 will require switching to P (exactly the opposite, which is why it will be confusing).