Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Where are my Cached Maps going?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by FASTFJR, Apr 18, 2016.

  1. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    This is driving me crazy, its happening ever since the 1.8 firmware update. When I fly I normally cache my flying area over wifi at home before I go out. Never had an issue in the past, I cache my maps, go out to fly and the area is there. Since 1.8 I do the same thing, cache my maps, go fly and everything is there..........until I go out and fly again. I can go back to the same area and get nothing. Its like the area I cached has been erased. I've checked all my settings and everything is looks good. What the heck am I doing wrong? I never had this issue in the past
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Android?
    Open Google maps, go to the area of interest.
    You don't need zoom in but it needs to be a reasonable area maybe 10 miles across or less.
    Say "OK maps"
    You can then download and save that area and when offline later you can zoom in much further than when you viewed the wider map.
    DJI Go will be able to use the map also.

    IOS: :confused: Dunno
     
  3. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    You don't say if it's iOS or Android. But, I suffered the same map issue with my iOS when on the 2.7.1 GoApp. I don't think the FW 1.8 has the problem. Since I updated to 2.72 GoApp I haven't seen this problem again. But, it's still early. We'll see.
     
  4. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Sorry, using iOS on an iPad mini. Going back out later today to run some more test
     
  5. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    If you cache your map prior to flying using (I'm assuming) you have wifi only, move around the map to overlap the area you want to fly. Turn off the GoApp. When you arrive at your flying area it will be on the map for you.
     
  6. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Yes I know that. The problem is after I turn everything off after flying and go back to the same location hours or a few days later their is not any map data. Its like its being erased. Never had this issue until my last update to 1.8, DJI is latest version also
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,768
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    Is it the old problem of app settings reverting to default with an update?
    Make sure you have Cache Maps in Background enabled in the app settings.
     
    Lonewolf likes this.
  8. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    Forgot that option. Thanks.
     
  9. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    I did some more testing late yesterday and ran into the same issue. I decided to delete and reload the App. Whatever was wrong with it is now working correctly