When to reinvest in equipment?

Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'd like to quickly share a dilemma I'm having. I am a part-time commercial operator, currently using a P3 Pro. I've done enough jobs where I am solidly in the black: P3P, accessories, editing software, and Part 107 costs have all been covered. My regular customers, a real estate team, are very happy with my work thus far.

I just landed a larger job (for me) that should gross around $3,000 in 3 shoots. I'm pretty excited about it, but I'm kind of left with a good "problem." Do I take the profits (less taxes and expenses) and enjoy myself, or should I consider reinvesting into higher quality equipment?

The P3P is great, but I do feel it is lacking in still photo quality for professional use. I'm eyeballing the P4P, but I'm uncertain the return on investment is going to be that great. I'm drooling over the Inspire 2, but I would have to finance that for sure, and my revenue from photography is nowhere near enough to cover it in a reasonable amount of time. I'm wondering if I should enjoy some more profits a little longer and hold off for the next generation.

TL;DR

-Currently have P3P
-Making decent money
-Buy a P4P?
-Wait for the next generation (Phantom 5)?

I actually had to upgrade to the P4P (P4 series) due to the fact a customer requested it (12 month contract) so I retired my P3Ps (Currently on eBay) and currently now use the P4P ...I have also been in the black for a while now enough to get 11 batteries and 1 backup P3..I would say if business is booming use what you have unless you see a major reason to refresh. I know I wasn't going to ..till the P5 since the P3P is a SOLID all around drone ..I've traveled Internationally and sold vacation footage to Tv networks (Travel / Bravo) they still are my goto I almost packed it instead of my Mavic Pro for vacation.

Reactions: jofus