whats your range?

Reaction score
IM new to the drone community and will be purchasing a phantom likely within the next 2 weeks
Likely start out with a Phantom2
unsure what the vision+ means

Ive read a good bit and remain confused as to the range of these phantoms
I understand the remote control has a way farther range than the video feed ( which is usually wifi)

so my question is what ranges do you guys get out of your setups?
I just dont think that 800-1000ft for the video feed wifi is enough range and will likely need to upgrade to RF
or whatever you guys use for more range
Im looking for 1500-2000 ft FPV and rc control

I see a lot of different brands and setups but have no clue what im looking at

Last edited:
Just get a P3A or P3P with built in Lightbridge and be done with it! Not one person who owns a P3A or P3P wishes they had the much more limited range of the P2 or P2v+, but a lot of the P2 and P2V+ owners paid $1,500 additional to add the Lightbridge setup to their rigs, which is included free in the P3A and Phantom 3 Professional!:cool: The specs say 1.2 miles, but 2.7 miles can be achieved under optimal circumstances with clear LOS! You'll always want to go farther than you originally planned on!:D

Just get a P3A or P3P with built in Lightbridge and be done with it! Not one person who owns a P3A or P3P wishes they had the much more limited range of the P2 or P2v+, but a lot of the P2 and P2V+ owners paid $1,500 additional to add the Lightbridge setup to their rigs, which is included free in the P3A and Phantom 3 Professional!:cool: The specs say 1.2 miles, but 2.7 miles can be achieved under optimal circumstances with clear LOS! You'll always want to go farther than you originally planned on!:D

I did not realize this
very good information
so the Phantom 3 Advanced has a much farther range for both control AND video feed?
just to confirm

I did not realize this
very good information