Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What's wrong with this Viedo quality ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by mchrol, May 7, 2014.

  1. mchrol

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poznan/Stargard Szcz. POLAND
    Would you check this video and advice me , what's wrong with that. I have this feeling in Vision ( non + ) had better quality video. Why quality in below video is not good enough ? Or it is just my opinion ?

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ifrn-6uT4ow
     
  2. tebowner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    I agree. No one seems to think this but I am convinced PV2 camera video is way better (minus stablization)

    check out some my posts for some answers

    I always notice objects (such as the red roofs in your video) have this unclear "noise" on them ...like reflective waves.
     
  3. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    looks good to me.

    Seems smooth, quality is sharp @720p
    There is very slight jello, but if you dont know what to look for, the average viewer might not notice it.

    Frame rate seems to drop a bit at times.
    Do you have a class 10 card in it?
    It could also be due to the low light
     
  4. panhygrous pantler

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Those artifacts are caused by excessive sharpening and acerbated by the low bitrate.

    The sharpening is most noticeable when looking at straight lines like the roof margins, the dashed lines in the street, etc.

    Have you tried changing the Sharpness setting?
     
  5. semaj

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    same thing that is wrong with your spelling... :lol: :lol: :lol:

    Ok... just having fun...

    The video looks good in 720P to me... I'm currently flying both the P2V and P2V+ and in my opinion, the P2V+ video is slightly better... Its probably do to the stability of the Camera, but both look pretty good... Try flying on a bright sunny day... Those overcast sky's seem to take away from things a little, unless you are looking for that effect...
     
  6. mchrol

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poznan/Stargard Szcz. POLAND
    To be honest I didn't try nothing. Since I finally get Phantom with stabilization I thought that's it.

    How can I change sharpness settings ? In Android app ? Should I use also some program for edit before reach a satisfactory effect?
    This video is just direct copy from Phantom. I use standard stock SD Card , shall I change it as well?
     
  7. tebowner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    i was told to try this :

    don't use auto white balance. Set it to cloudy or sunny depending.
    - set your ISO to 100 (don't use automatic) if you fly in a bright day, or 400 if it's darker (end of day for example). ISO 400 is really noisy... Mine is set to 200. I can live with the amount of noise.
    - use average metering instead of spot or center.
    - and do some post processing to help.

    I dont see much difference though

    sharpness ? is that a setting? what do you suggested it be set to?
     
  8. tebowner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    "Do you have a class 10 card in it?"

    something with the SD card can cause video issue?
     
  9. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    I would assume it could cause skipping in framerate.
    Might even cause artifacts if its not meant to be used for HD video recording
     
  10. mchrol

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poznan/Stargard Szcz. POLAND

    Forgive my spelling. I would use my country forum but hey :) There is no forum in my language. I prefer this .

    Yes you right about wheater. It was cloudy day. Will try, thanks.
     
  11. mchrol

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poznan/Stargard Szcz. POLAND
    I think that fault is during uploading. On computer looks fine.

    Do you really think is way better to buy a good micro SD card ?
     
  12. panhygrous pantler

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's in the manual.
     
  13. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    In short, yes. Way better.

    There are some general issues when using slower sd cards.
    But class 10 is what everyone here would recommend.
     
  14. tebowner

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    i am using the provided SD card - not sure class

    recommended Sharpness? i have Std
     
  15. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    I think you should definitely replace the stock 4 GB Class 6 memory card with a larger, Class 10 card. I've recorded my last couple of flights in 720P*60FPS. Though the resolution is lower, the video is much smoother & more fluid when making turns or rapid movements. Haven't tried the 1080ix60FPS mode because its interlaced.
     
  16. tomsack

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,CA.
    I checked my 4gb sd and is says it's a class 4 but I will be using a class 10.
     
  17. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    A Class 4? Is that what came with your Vision+? Mine came with a Class 6, which is bad enough, but a Class 4. Ugh...

    You can get a good, name brand, 32 gig Class 10 card for <$20. Money well spent.
     
  18. tomsack

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,CA.
     
  19. tomsack

    Joined:
    May 7, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Auburn,CA.
    I'm trying to get used to posting on this website.

    Yes, a Cass 4. I've only had the P2VP 2 days and is has seen zero air time. I waiting for the wind to calm down below 10 mph for it's first flight.

    I bought a 32gb Samsung EVO w/class 10 and it was right around $20. Can't wait...But I will!
     
  20. mchrol

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Poznan/Stargard Szcz. POLAND
    I got same stock SD Card with class 4. Today I was trying to record/photos with my old micro card class 2 :) Android app. was showing all the time some errors about frame rat to low. Finally i came back home and found no photos and video at all on my card.

    I bought SONY micro SDHC UHS-I Class 10 up to 40Mb/s Hope this will help a little.