Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What would cause p3p 4K video mode only to stop working?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by CenLA, Mar 22, 2016.

  1. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    So I went flying with the DJI Go app and found I was unable to switch to video mode. When I touched the icon for it the screen would show no video image nor was I able to start the record button.

    When I switched back to still camera mode the camera worked fine and I could see through the lens on my tablet and take still shots.

    I tried the reset button under the camera menu but that just changed the settings back to default. I reseated the two cables from the camera to the body but that also did no good. Finally, I deleted the app on my iPad and reinstalled it but no difference. My P4 works just fine on the same iPad though so I think the issue is on the P3P bird.

    Any thoughts? Here is a screenshot from my iPad when I press the movie camera icon. ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1458689961.365176.jpg
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Check the FW installed on your P3 and report back.
     
  3. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    App. 2.7.1 AC 1.7.60. RC 1.5.80
     
  4. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    I get the same response in Litchi - regular camera works, just not video mode.

    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1458690928.597525.jpg
     
  5. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
  6. ianwood

    ianwood Taco Wrangler
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    4,922
    Likes Received:
    1,797
    Location:
    Lost Angeles
    Try a different SD card.
     
  7. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just tried it. No luck. Same response.
     
  8. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    Let me try a different route here -- who can I send my 4K camera to for testing and or repair?
     
  9. Frankc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire, England
    Have you tried changing the camera's setting? After the 1.7 update I did the camera had switched to record MOV files. When I got home I could not play them on my computer via the card. I have since switched to MP4 and all is well with the world again. Worth a try?
     
  10. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    Tried that then and again just now. No luck. Thanks for the idea though.
     
  11. ddh1313

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    35
    Try no SD card at all.
    Swap RC USB cable.
    Messed with hardware decoding in GO? (this might be gone now actually)
    What's your Aircraft Status -> Gimbal Status?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #11 ddh1313, Apr 1, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2016
  12. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    Same response. Marks like it should include photo mode but no image in video mode. After 20 seconds or so after moving the slider to video mode, it automatically falls back to photo mode on its own. Gimbal status looks fine and I keep resetting to defaults.
     
  13. Frankc

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    655
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Malvern, Worcestershire, England
    Basically it can only be one of two things. Hardware problem or software problem. Hardware we can not really help you with for obvious reasons.

    Software though is different. Personally I would completely uninstall the DJI app. I do not mean just delete it. Use one of those software uninstallers say from iorbit etc. Ensuring there are no reg entries left etc. Re-start computer. Re-install DJI app. That way you will know if it was some glitch in the DJI software or not. Even if it does not work at least you will know what is not a problem. Narrowing everything down bit by bit.

    My other thought was the Lightbridge program. I suspect though that is bundled in with the DJI app? Feel sure thought that someone will be along to correct me if I am wrong.

    Let us know how you get on. :)
     
  14. noki49

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester. UK.
    I don't have the pro, only the advance so i can't compare but in the pic of your Go app it looks like you have video settings of 4k, 2.7k and 1080p.
    I didn't think the pro did 2k7 video.
    I think it's it's a firmware issue on the phantom.
    Have you tried the lower resolution like 1080p.
     
  15. beegee

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    7
     
  16. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    It is not app issue as Litchi has the same issue. It looks that aircraft FW was installed correctly for the camera. This can be done by downgrading to FW 1.6, check video works and then upgrade again to 1.7. Aircraft FW has : parts, one for P3, one for camera and one for battery.
     
  17. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is there steps to downgrading? This is a P3A replacement body using the 4K camera from my old P3P with the 1.7 P3P firmware.
     
  18. noki49

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Manchester. UK.
    I think there lies the problem. Definitely sounds like some sort of firmware mismatch between the camera and aircraft.
     
  19. CenLA

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm up to date there.

    Has anyone here opened up a 4K camera before? Is there any user serviceable parts inside like loose wires or the like?

    I'm 99% sure the problem is in the camera. I thought I could take still shots but it appears no image is being saved in the app or on the SD card so all I can really do is watch where I'm going through the app -- no photo or video possible.

    Also, is the camera the exact same as the Phantom 3 4K so they would be swappable if I could find a used one?