Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

What to do when I lose GPS?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by prestoguy, Apr 16, 2014.

1. prestoguy

Apr 16, 2014
    What is the best thing to do when I lose GPS lock?

Ideally, I suppose I should learn to fly the thing in non-GPS mode. However, I don't see any way to intentionally get into non-GPS mode. It seems to fly the same way regardless of where the S1 switch is set--and that is in GPS mode. So, how do I learn to fly in non-GPS mode?

Given that I can't fly well at all in non-GPS mode, what is the best thing to do if I lose contact with the satellites?
  2. Madwak

Apr 2, 2014

Apr 2, 2014
    No seriously, you have to enable Naza mode if you want to turn GPS off.
  4. J Dot

Apr 10, 2014
    I'm no EXPERT, to the best of my knowledge
    Should go like this.

( I'm using DEFAULT OR FACTORY Settings )
    These toggles can be personalized, to do different things,
    I'm going by what it would be set to out of the box or default!
    ( using the latest firmware ) I'm not sure that matters?

Always SWITCH BOTH TOGGLES UP, before turning transmitter. ( Tx. ) to ON.
    ( left switch is IOC ( Intelligent orientation control )
    ( right switch is Flight Mode )
    LEFT switch UP is OFF position
    RIGHT switch UP is GPS Normal Mode

THEN START PHANTOM. ( 1) controller, 2) range extender , 3) phantom, and 4 smart phone app/wifi hook up
    Lift off

now once in the air, SWITCH RIGHT toggle to MIDDLE position,
    This setting is GPS-ATTI mode ( this setting still uses GPS, but relies LESS on GPS, and MORE on user input ( You )
    GPS NORMAL relies MORE on GPS less on user input!
    ( bottom function or toggle down ( return home feature )

This way you will be flying more, GPS less. ( right toggle MIDDLE )

If you lose GPS, DO NOT PANIC, give it a bit to reestablish GPS LOCK! ( mine loses signal occasionally as we'll )