What to do when I lose GPS?

Reaction score
What is the best thing to do when I lose GPS lock?

Ideally, I suppose I should learn to fly the thing in non-GPS mode. However, I don't see any way to intentionally get into non-GPS mode. It seems to fly the same way regardless of where the S1 switch is set--and that is in GPS mode. So, how do I learn to fly in non-GPS mode?

Given that I can't fly well at all in non-GPS mode, what is the best thing to do if I lose contact with the satellites?

Hello,
I'm no EXPERT, to the best of my knowledge
Should go like this.

( I'm using DEFAULT OR FACTORY Settings )
These toggles can be personalized, to do different things,
I'm going by what it would be set to out of the box or default!
( using the latest firmware ) I'm not sure that matters?

Always SWITCH BOTH TOGGLES UP, before turning transmitter. ( Tx. ) to ON.
( left switch is IOC ( Intelligent orientation control )
( right switch is Flight Mode )
LEFT switch UP is OFF position
RIGHT switch UP is GPS Normal Mode

THEN START PHANTOM. ( 1) controller, 2) range extender , 3) phantom, and 4 smart phone app/wifi hook up
Lift off

now once in the air, SWITCH RIGHT toggle to MIDDLE position,
This setting is GPS-ATTI mode ( this setting still uses GPS, but relies LESS on GPS, and MORE on user input ( You )
GPS NORMAL relies MORE on GPS less on user input!
( bottom function or toggle down ( return home feature )

This way you will be flying more, GPS less. ( right toggle MIDDLE )

If you lose GPS, DO NOT PANIC, give it a bit to reestablish GPS LOCK! ( mine loses signal occasionally as we'll )
( JUST MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A GOOD ( HOME POINT ) LOCK, BEFORE TAKE-OFF!