Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What the ^&%%$!!! is Wrong Now?!?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Pointyhead, Mar 17, 2016.

  1. Pointyhead

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Warner Robins, Georgia
    I got my last battery firmware upgraded a couple of weeks ago (rookie mistake) and I've been flying several times since with no problems whatsoever.

    Today I go out for some training, and when I switch everything on, I get a firmware needs upgrade. OK, fine. When I click on it, it tries to start the download. But when I look at it is says Firmware Version 1.5.80!

    I am currently on 1.6.40! Why the heck is my bird trying to revert back to an earlier version? When I got home and started it up in the house, I'm getting the same thing. It downloaded 1.5.80 but I haven't told it to install.

    Is this an error on my part, or is DJI just messing with me? And if it's the latter, I hope I meet the programmer that did this. I'll kick a lung out of him for sure.

    :mad:

    PH
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,044
    Likes Received:
    1,623
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    You are getting confused. 1.5.80 is for your controller and not the bird.
     
  3. Pointyhead

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Warner Robins, Georgia
    Oops :oops::oops::oops::oops::oops:
     
    Reed L likes this.
  4. Pointyhead

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Warner Robins, Georgia
    A good programmer would separate the two different programs with a large increment just to avoid this very situation. Just sayin.....
     
  5. Pointyhead

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Warner Robins, Georgia
    OK, I just upgraded the RC firmware, and did a reboot.It's now telling me I need a firmware update on the aircraft and the camera. Is this because of the 1.7x version that just came out?
     
  6. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    144
    Glad to hear everything's worked out (and yes, I've seen development teams jump through hoops to get the versions aligned). But a question about your original post: you were upgrading firmware out in the field? Were you using cellular data on your device, or hot-spot through your phone?
     
  7. NormanNormal

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    181
    Location:
    South Florida
    Don't feel bad, I got my phantom today and I almost made the same mistake. I said, what the heck, it's downloading an old version? :D Then I realized what it was.
     
    Pointyhead likes this.
  8. Pointyhead

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2016
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Warner Robins, Georgia

    When I saw it start downloading, I quickly shut the app down and packed everything in for the afternoon. It was using my cell data though. When I downloaded it just now it was still though my iPhone but connected to my wifi.
     
  9. Sagebrush

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    153
    They're messing with you. I'm fairly sure you updated to the latest firmware for your controller. You'll still get that firmware note for your bird.

    S