What the heck is that?!

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the forum. I've had quite a lot of flying experience and excitedly tracking my new Phantom Pro 4's trip from America. This may sound like a silly question but what is the most accepted term for our machines? quad copter, Aircraft, drone, U.A.V. toy? or something else lol.

Welcome to the forum!
Good question. Personally, I'll refer to them as "quads" or "drones", or even by the model designation, like Phantom or Mavic. But I'm pretty new at this, so someone else might enlighten us both...

Welcome to the forums, I prefer to use quad or uav, drone has such a negative image associated with it thanks to the medias bias. I think these manufacturers need to stop calling them drones IMO and start distancing our hobby from the negative bias lol but that's just IMO

Welcome to the forums, I prefer to use quad or uav, drone has such a negative image associated with it thanks to the medias bias. I think these manufacturers need to stop calling them drones IMO and start distancing our hobby from the negative bias lol but that's just IMO

Totally agree with you. That's the main reason I asked.

Reactions: GhostRdrTat
DJI calls them "drones" on their website.

A lot of folks call them "aircraft" I prefer "drone" if I'm in a hurry, and Phantom if I want to specify the class/style of quad. I've heard the Phantom referred to as the Cadillac of drones in the past (of course it isn't, but obviously some people believe it is).

When you say "drone", everyone knows what you're talking about. If you say "UAS", "quadcopter", or "quad" not so much. Then you have to explain what you mean, and they say, "Oh, you mean a drone, right?"

There has been a negative image of the word "Drone" in the past due to military drones killing bad guys, and occasional collateral damage (innocents), however given the drone craze in the market that has changed over the last year.