What do you recommend?
Any good place in Europe to buy them?

bompaholm said:
What kind of Phantom should one buy?

I am new to this so please advice.
Mostly to take photos and fly around.

What do you recommend?
Any good place in Europe to buy them?
Depends on your budget, I'm surprised no one has replied sooner.
I have a P2V , if I was starting again with foresight I would get a P2 with 3D gimble.

May I suggest doing some research on the the ways you'd like to "play" with your quad? I could have saved a few hundred bucks if someone would have ask me that. :) Here's how I think this hobby is divided:
- Photography
- FPV w/ goggles
- dunno but I have to own one!

Photography
Get one with a gimbal, plain and simple. The steady shot is a must and cannot be accomplished with a fixed mounted unit.

FPV w/ Goggles
Plan on building your own for the best results but not required. The FPV experience is truly amazing. Check out the Blackout multirotors athttp://minihquad.com. Mini H Quad is the hottest model in the hobby. This is probably where the true hobbyist will end up.

Dunno but I have to own one!
This is where I fall. I didn't know why I wanted it but I had to have one. If this is you may I recommend sticking with brands like Hubsan, Blade and Walkera ready-to fly(RTF)? They're relatively popular, cheap and come with their own transmitter. You'll find FPV AND photography at this level. Just don't expect HD quality.

Yep, here are the factors IMO.

- Best for budget = P1
- Best for flight time = P2
- Gimbal support = P1 or P2
- Built-in FPV = FC40 (no gimbal, no tilt) or P2V (no gimbal, with tilt) or P2V+ (built-in gimbal, with tilt)
- Easiness to install a gimbal and FPV = P2 + Zenmuse + AVL58 + iOSD Mini + FPV Hub
- Most expensive = P2 + Zenmuse + GoPro + LightBridge

Gimbal = 2/3 axis stabilization = stable/smooth photos/video.
P1 = Phantom 1
P2 = Phantom 2 (2.8GHz Edition aka Non-Vision)
P2V = Phantom 2 Vison
P2V+ = Phantom 2 Vision+ (latest model)

Thank you