Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What is the best range extender for P3P?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by MiamiPhantom, Nov 18, 2015.

  1. MiamiPhantom

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey everyone I'm looking to extend the range significantly on my P3P, not sure which products are best for it? Thanks!
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    DBS mods-- FPVLR mod --- Battery mods-- all searchable on the forum threads

    Cheers:):)
     
    D4T_PoM likes this.
  3. Squirrelcop

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try a windsurfer first...they are cheap and work very well...I've been able to go well over 2 miles and still have strong signal. If that doesn't work for you then spend more money on something more advanced
     
    Mako79 likes this.
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    The other unique capability you shouldn't forget about is the two piece windsurfer fits in a backpack or nearly any other hard case. That's not possible with FPVLR or DVD MOD in most cases and also carry the iPad, charger and extra props.
     
  5. droneshop

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    I disagree, many of the horizon FPV antennas I sell will fit in a case pretty well and are easy to remove and install.
     
  6. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I stated the FPVLR.COM and DSB MOD setups won't fit. True, there are other antennas that fit, but for long range the windsurfer is compact and cheap, 2+ miles easy, not to mention no installation time and it won't void the warranty.
     
    mick74 likes this.
  7. Rocket_Aus

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    89
    Yuh the DBS has a quick release bracket that pops off and on in seconds.Best bang for you buck around.
     
  8. RF Guy

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Hot Springs
    I'm thinking you want to go many miles. Let me just warn you that running the phantom out long range is risky. The phantom itself isn't designed to operate in hostile RF environments. What I mean is that if you are far off and get in the path of a microwave data link or medium power RF signal from any of dozens of sources, you'll loose control. No modification to the controller will provide immunity from this failure mode. Cities are chock full of RF these days. Just be prepared to loose it if you push the limits past what is reported here. Bob
     
    D4T_PoM and alokbhargava like this.
  9. gppms

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Greece.
    IMG_0923.jpg This is my backpack with the DBS antenna install in the radio.
     
    phantom13flyer likes this.
  10. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Dbs Mods will fit and if not it has a quick release mount and it takes about 3 seconds to remove . Well worth the 100 bucks and have a great reliable signal that will out fly the stock battery. Amazing antenna! !
     
    gppms and D4T_PoM like this.
  11. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Hey, that's pretty slick, using one of the battery slots to fit the antenna. Nice cut job, looks OEM. I have the same backpack but use that hole for my Marco Polo tracker. I also have 4 batteries, seems like a good number.
     
  12. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Yes, you can always remove it, but make sure you don't accidentally turn on the controller without the antenna wires connection, there's a risk of ruining the RF circuits I'm told. The 50 ohm load is important. I think that's why all drone OEMs don't make it easy to remove the antennas.
     
  13. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    1,086
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I've always worried about this scenario. Then I see Demonseed do things I would never do, flying around radio towers, high voltage lines, etc.
    So if a Phantom was interrupted by rouge signals, in theory isn't that supposed to trigger RTH? I realize there are no guarantees of course, but if the craft loses the controller signal that it's bound to, I thought that was "supposed to" enable RTH. Am I wrong?
     
  14. phantom13flyer

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    404
    Not likely to accidentally turn on your controller . The dbsmods.com antenna will fit in most cases and backpacks with it on. It's a amazing how such a small compact antenna can produce incredible results . Great penetration through obstacles but important the peace of mind having such a reliable signal . Even if you don't plan on going very far away . I love flying out my back porch and I don't have to worry about aiming , I can just fly.
     
  15. ovyyus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    28
    I thought it was guaranteed?! - if the signal between bird and controller is lost then RTH kicks in and the bird flies home. Am I wrong?
     
  16. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    You're right. You won't lose your bird if you lose control of the bird. It will magically fly back to you every single times.
     
  17. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    If there is something between you and the bird like a small tree that made you lose the signal or if you fly into a no fly zone, either way it just goes down. It will try and fly a straight path back to home sometimes, but no guarantee's. It may just try and land.
     
  18. Wacker2611

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2015
    Messages:
    444
    Likes Received:
    164
    With respect, that's rubbish. If you have correctly adjusted your fail safe settings, on RTH with the appropriate altitude and an appropriate home point etc, it WILL fly home EVERY time. So, assuming you've got enough juice left in the battery and assuming you don't get apprehended by a murder of crows etc etc you will see the bird sweep majestically back in to view. Be brave and turn your rc off, you'll see.
     
  19. Rocket_Aus

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    89
    I
    I'll second that I fly long range and lose connection regularly she always fly back to me.
     
  20. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,789
    Debbie downer! No but RF is right, whenever you fly the way I, others here,& obvious that you now want to, you gotta be prepaired that it may not make it back from that 5 mile flight