What is the best FPV system?

Reaction score
I currently have the helipal storm all in one fpv system (deluxe) from helipal.com [http://www.helipal.com/storm-all-in-one-fpv-combo-deluxe.html]. ive been using this for about 6 months now and just upgraded my gimbal to the H3-3D gimbal and also want to upgrade my fpv system. i dont want fatsharks as i dont like to be THAT imersed into the flight. I want a system that has a great transmitter that can work the range of the phantom, so i can max the range and still have solid video. With the cheap chinese made one i have now the video cuts out after about 100meters. Price is not a limitation but i want it to be proven tested and like i said, work at the drones range. Soldering is not an issue either. I want to use it with a monitor (preferably my current one, if not i dont have an issue buying another, my monitor specs can be found at the helipal link above.) and with the stock dji controller, iosd mini, and my H3-3D gimbal, with Hero 3.

phantom_medic said:
you dont have to have a 'gimbal' to do fpv right?

technically the answer to your question is no.. you just need a camera (how are you going to attach it to your phantom?), a video transmitter, a cable to link the two and a way to power the transmitter. (not counting the receiving side equipment)

but honestly Phantoms are designed to work with a gimbal, and everything integrates much better. somehow mounting a camera directly to a phantom frame will result in every vibration and movement of the Phantom translating directly to the video... your view will be shaky, tilt, and generally be a hassle. a gimbal smooths all that out and yields an actually useable experience

sounds like you'd just be better off with the P2V+