Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What is a Flytrex

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by disjecta, Mar 14, 2014.

  1. disjecta

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Excuse my ignorance but what is a Flytrex and why would I want it on a Phantom?

    My basic (and ignorant) understanding is that it is some kind of black box equivalent...
     
  2. xgeek

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Messages:
    543
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, UK, Declination -1.2
    Its a data logger that logs flight telemetry information.

    http://www.flytrex.com
     
  3. Bigvern

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. disjecta

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Great thanks...I guess I could have Googled it but I appreciate the response. :)
     
  5. Byroman

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Libby, Montana
  6. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    I love my Flytrex. Not only do you get the fun of recording your mission and entering the challenges on flytrex.com, but you have the data. You can export it in KML for a 3D view in GoogleEarth, or you can export in CSV and do things like know how far you flew (beyond the **** 3300' limit in the app). And you can load that CSV into Dashware and make videos like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6XfaINUPCQ This just shows a fraction of the data accessible - you can make any custom overlay you like. It's $50 for the Flytrex Core and another $50 for Dashware but completely worth it for me anyway.
     
  7. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    How do you manage to sync the Flytrex data with your video?
    Looks cool!
     
  8. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
  9. Scottrod

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fleetwood, PA
    I want one! I would imagine the flytrex is fairly transferable to another unit should I upgrade in the future.
     
  10. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Works with any naza and some non DJI hardware too. Full list of supported aircraft is on their website.
     
  11. Scottrod

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fleetwood, PA
    Thanks as always....for spending my money. :lol:
     
  12. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    My wife loves him... :) :D :lol: :roll:
     
  13. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    <puts on deep voice> Everybody's wife loves me. Aaah yeah.

    :cool:
     
  14. Scottrod

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fleetwood, PA
    Haha. Very true.