What happens when I fly out of range

Reaction score
Hello, I have quite a few flights under my belt in a wide open area. I have a 3 standard. I want to shut off the distance limit and see how far I can go. I have read many forums of people pushing the distance. I know my standard won't go very far. My question is what happens when it loses connection with the controller. I do have fail safe rth enabled at a safe altitude to come back. Once it goes out of range will it engage in rth within 3 seconds? What happens? Thanks and sorry for the total novice question. Remember I have a standard.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app

Reactions: jointeffort
Just be aware that your remote can lose signal from the Phantom but your phantom may still be getting signal from the remote. In that scenario RTH won't be automatic. I always toggle my RTH switch just to be safe when I have a connection issue.

Reactions: jointeffort
If the Phantom is below RTH altitude it will climb to the height. If it's above that altitude it will stay at that higher altitude. It will then fly back to the home point (where you took off). If I recall correctly it will hover until critical battery and then land. In any case, you can take control of the P3 once it's within range again by switching to Atti mode and back to GPS.

Just be aware that your remote can lose signal from the Phantom but your phantom may still be getting signal from the remote. In that scenario RTH won't be automatic. I always toggle my RTH switch just to be safe when I have a connection issue.