Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What happens if Transmitter loses connection?

Discussion in 'DJI Ground Station' started by noreason4, Jun 29, 2014.

  1. noreason4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey,

    what happens during a mission, when the transmitter loses it's connection? Will it return to home or continue its mission?

    What about losing both connections (= transmitter AND datalink connection lost)? Return to home or continuing the mission?

    Thank you!
     
  2. noreason4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    It will complete the mission regardless. The mission is uploaded to the phantom
     
  4. doug86

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bi-Polar
    I would be surprised if turning off the TX would fail to trigger a RTH even during a mission, but I'll wait to hear some more replies. Perhaps someone has already tested?

    The RTH feature is a major safety item that I would think would always override everything else. Loss of TX signal is a major hazard, and in every other case, if the Phantom loses the TX signal, it comes home (manual mode excepted) or lands itself.
     
  5. NYG

    NYG

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Long Island, NY

    You could certainly plan a GS route to get you well out of range of your TX. I would hope a RTH wouldn't be triggered.
     
  6. noreason4

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds great! I for myself can verify that the Phantom 2 Vision will continue its mission even when the tx will be turned off. I tried that myself. I just wasn't sure what happens to the real ground station on a normal Phantom 2
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    On the normal groundstation, yes...as long as your battery will haul it that far (which isn't really that hard for 2km).

    I think the version released for the P2V/P2V+ has a restriction on total mission length, though I don't know for sure what it is or if it's editable.