What FPV system for Hero3 live preview?

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I use my Phantom entirely for filming and I need an FPV system that allows me to see what my GoPro is shooting.
I have a Zenmuse gimbal and I'm completely in the dark as to what the best solution is.

I think I'd like a screen rather than goggles so that clients can preview the shots while I'm filming. I actually have a little 5" Marshall monitor with an HDMI input if that helps?

Over to you guys, the experts! What's my best solution?

You can have a good combined solutions:

1) Your VTX in fact sends signal to 1 or 2 or more VRX. You can buy 2 monitors sharing the same RVX output signal for you and your client.
2) You could use the Monitor and let clients enjoy and become "director" by using immersion goggles, each one with independent VRX set to the same VTX frequency.
3) You can go ahead and share / record signal with a DVR or a Laptop.!

Here you can see my solutions proved by many users:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showpost.php?p=25052727&postcount=4

Thanks for the detailed reply!

What's the most simple option? Is there a solution that will work with my current Marshall HDMI monitor?
Like - GoPro > Transmitter > Receiver > HDMI input > Marshall monitor ?

Hard to get your VRX --> HDMI adapter, .... Does your Monitor has analog video/audio (RCA plug) ?

It doesn't, no. However picking up a cheap Lilliput screen with RCA input isn't an issue.
So what transmitter/receiver combo do I need to get video from my GoPro?

The main thing with screens for fpv is you need one that wont go blue or black screen on low analogue video signal. You need one that will go to full static, this limits the choices quite a bit but theres a few good ones. Look for one that is at least 400cdm/2 brightness with a lens hood otherwise it will be very hard to use outside when the sun is out.