What do you use your phantom for?

Reaction score
Hello all!

Ever since I was a little kid (40+ now) I have (now and again) wanted to fly model helicopters or planes. Trouble is they are hard to fly well, and by the time you're really good at it and you have a scale WWII fighter you'll have spent a small fortune. As well as being interested in model building and planes I have been an amateur photographer for many years with all that comes with it in terms of spending money on camera gear and studio equipment. Now it seems I am finally able to combine those interests by getting a vision 2 plus. But I am afraid that I'll do a hover over our house. Film the view from the nearby park, a trip or two to the beach and then I'll run out of ideas as far as what to use it for. I see all these great clips of wildlife and beautiful scenery, but most of us will only ever travel to the places we usually go anyway, and those places might not be as breathtaking...

What is your experience as far as keeping things interesting go? I can't imagine staying interested if all I do is fly around in circles till the battery runs out. There is a limit to how many times you can film the same views and still find it to be fascinating. I know I can do just that and then sell it on to the next person when I am no longer using it, so it'll never be a pure loss.

Best regards
Guy Rosset
Oslo
Norway

I'm about 3 months away from having mine a full year and I still love flying mine. My camera is broke at the moment, but even without the camera I still enjoy flying. It's very relaxing to me, especially if it's a nice warm night out and the wind is calm.

Maybe I'm 6 months in and I'm finding some interest is fading for me a bit on the photography side. That is probably because I go to mostly to the same areas unless I get to go on a vacation.
I still enjoy flying for sure but I haven't used it in a week since I live in a no fly zone and also when I check the weather there is high wind.