Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What do you do when you lose signal/video turns gray?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by 30secs, Jul 9, 2015.

  1. 30secs

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2015
    Messages:
    889
    Likes Received:
    113
    I'm wondering what you guys do when you lost signal, and the screen goes dark?

    Had that happen to me today as I try to test the limits. I kind of panicked when the screen turned black and white.. And hit return to home until I got the feed back. But that was unnerving.

    What do you guys do? And is the a way to push the phantom after losing signal to get the extra distance? I tried playing with antenna positions to no avail.
     
  2. NickCopter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2015
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Depends on the situation. If I'm flying for range I just keep the throttle all the way forward and see if it comes back.

    If I'm zipping around at lower altitudes and lose signal, I hit RTH immediately so I gain altitude and don't unknowingly fly into anything low.
     
  3. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    If you have los bring it home...
     
  4. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Screen turns black and white .... Pants turn brown ... Hit RTH and clean myself up!
     
    Jsun likes this.
  5. Javy871

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Happened to me beyond LOS. Map still worked. Manually brought it back.

    Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
     
  6. SnoozeDoggyDog

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    97
    Ahhhh! The map! I hadn't realised it still runs. Thanks
     
    Javy871 likes this.