What do I need for an FPV Set-up?

Reaction score
I'm getting my Phantom 2 (standard) in a couple of days along with an H3-3D gimbal. I have a gopro that I will be using with this as well. I'm really interested in a FPV set-up either with a screen or with goggles/glasses. I'm new to the quad hobby so not sure exactly what I'll need. I don't have thousands to spend so hoping for a budget set-up.

Any suggestions or advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Welcome to the forum .
Everything Ken said + I would add a good set of antennas I never had good luck with the rubber Duckys .

Welcome to the forum .
Everything Ken said + I would add a good set of antennas I never had good luck with the rubber Duckys .

Yea, was going to suggest something for the antennas and forgot... sorry... antennas are a funny subject because it seems not everyone has the same configuration... I started with these:

FatShark SpiroNET antennas

I put one on my ImmersionRC 600, and one on my Black Pearl. Then I got this:

ImmersionRC SpiroNET 5.8GHz CP Patch Antenna

I put that on the Black Pearl as well. Took it out yesterday, and it worked very well. I had some significant interference issues up until I got the patch antenna. Putting the Black Pearl on a tripod helped out a lot of people as well.

Ken, I noticed in your sig you use an h4-3D gimbal with a hero 4. Will a hero 4 work with an h3-3D gimbal as well? Do u know?

Ken, I noticed in your sig you use an h4-3D gimbal with a hero 4. Will a hero 4 work with an h3-3D gimbal as well? Do u know?
Mine does. Phantom 2 NV, Zenmuse H3-3D gimbal and a GoPro Hero 4 Black.

I _think_ so, but I'm not sure. I thought I had heard that there would be some sort of balance issue. Forum member Jason knows something about this I think, so maybe he'll see this and chime in. Sorry, but I don't want to be wrong for you...

If you want to save a buck on the transmitter eachine make a good one in the $20 range.