Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

what case?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Mori55, Mar 17, 2014.

  1. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I've been trying to decide between the GoPro professional case or the tough case xrv?I like the idea that a tough case has wheels but I think there's another model of the go pro professional but does have wheels.what I don't like about to talk to xrv is that it squishes down the props when I live is closed.
    so if you guys could give me some input on this I'd really appreciate it.
     
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
  3. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I swear that's the same case as the tough case XRV without the custom molded foam bottom inside.
    if you look at that case it's exactly the same one except for the motor foam.
     
  4. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    if I'm not mistaken it has the same dimensions as the tough case XRV. Gotta be the same case.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    It is ;)
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    I see this...

    ToughCase XRV - 24 x 16 x 10
    Seahorse SE-920 - 22.24 x 13.66 x 8.49

    Unless one is listing outer dimensions and the other inner dimensions? :?:
    They also make a larger one, the Seahorse SE-1220 that comes in at 25.52 X 19.5 X 13.08 for $141
     
  7. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
  8. Redline

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    aerial media sells one that will not push on the props and has wheels custom cut and will hold a iPad, think ahead you will only be putting more in it as you get extra tools ect...
     
  9. browntw79

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, VA USA
    This is the case that is used by Tradecraft Cases http://www.tradecraftcases.com for their Phantom 2 Vision case. Now I know how much the pre-cut foam is valued. Nonetheless, it is a very rugged case and travels well.
     
  10. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I just ordered the trade craft case. I guess it's not to big of a deal to take off the props. Or maybe get thinner egg crate foam for the top. Looks like goprofesional used thinner foam at top for this reason. But that's from looking at pics of them
     
  11. Fink

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Sounds like you made up your mind, but I have the GoProfessional for the P2 and the props definitely touch the egg crate foam on the top. I think as long as you are only using it for transporting and not storage full-time you will be ok. I leave mine in the case, but with the lid open.

    You could easily cut some relief into the top egg crate to allow for better prop clearance; however, I have not felt the need to do this. I've transported my P2 in this case since day one and I've flown about 10 times and I have had no issues at all.

    Can't wait to see what you think of the case you got!

    Fink[​IMG]
     
  12. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    I talked to tradecraft , their making the foam thinner in the top so you can keep the props on.
     
  14. Fink

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2014
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Nice! Are they making it overall thinner? If so, any concern with the other compartments being a little too loose?

    Fink[​IMG]
     
  15. airbiscuit

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got mine from Helipal.

    Fits ALL of my stuffs.

    Phantom 2 with stock radio.
    4 batteries + 3 chargers.
    Black Pearl LCD + folded hood + charger.
    Spare motors.
    4 pair of props.
     
  16. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    just top piece in the lid. I just got mine and it works great. Everything is snug and it barley touches the props.
     
  17. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,199
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
  18. macheung

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just got the Sea Horse case and have it fitted. It rocks.
    Fits my P2, FPV monitor, extra props, batteries, transmitter, antennas with room to spare.
    Check out the pic
     

    Attached Files:

  19. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Which seahorse case is it please?
     
  20. Almmohd

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    I liked this guy's suggestion: [youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4qtAKRE1VCA&list=PLzvKHG3cGXvDfg4Y3QVgrGzW92CzI4rwW[/youtube]