What can happen and What to do when it does happen

Reaction score
Hi Guys,

So i am relatively new to these drones, but thus far i have not had any issues or close calls with my Phantom 4 (aH). However i wanted to reach out to the community to see what kind of issues can occur and what to do in such a situation. So i thought i could post this and get everyones help to compile a list of things that can happen and what we can do to prevent it from happening.

1. Fly-a-ways
Problem - I am unsure how this happens, is this due to signal loss or strong winds or something?
Solution - Not sure what the solution can be. I am assuming running towards your drone to try to get signal back. Also has anyone looked into any trackers that can be placed on your drone?

2. Loss of signal
Problem - Again, unsure what exactly happens but i am assuming the GPS signal is lost suddenly due to some interference.
Solution - Again, running towards the drone? Trying to fly it back to you. Return to home activation

Please feel free to chip in and also help with my questions!

Thank you so much guys.

Technically a fly-away can happen due to excessive wind forces that phantom can't take on or in a situation where drone doesn't know where to go further correctly. If the wind pressure is too low, immediate steps would be to lower the altitudes and also try to continuously control it to move to safer location for landing. If compass goes haywire, it starts moving possibly into wrong directions. Move it to ATTI mode if you can handle it or lower it down and land it. I hv not come across these situations so I sometimes wonder if these are real situations :)

If GPS is lost, you get message on your remote and be prepared to handle with no GPS mode. You need practice to work in ATTI mode.

Normally when we say signal is weak or lost, it's referred to communication signal and not GPS. If signal is lost but GPS remains, drone will come back to home point assuming you have set RTH correctly.