Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

What antenna is this?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by TaraFirma, Sep 1, 2016.

  1. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    just got this P3S used for a good deal. It had this antennae setup on it when I got it. It has horrible range, 500ft before it loses video. Pretty sure I'm going to trash this setup for something better.
    Anyone ever seen anything like it? Do you know what it is?
    Let me know if it's fixable with what I have.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Dal

    Dal

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    28
    Yeah you can find it on amazon


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Replace it with DBS antenna ($109) mod if you feel comfortable doing so. Much better than what you have.
     
    TaraFirma likes this.
  4. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Looking into this. It's probably what I'll do. Not uncomfortable at all opening up the RC to make these connections. Pretty simple and straight forward.
     
  5. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Just did mine last night. Going to be doing a test flight today. If you do, just take your time, and be gentle, it's easy. 1472822689945.jpg 1472822708556.jpg 1472822712551.jpg

    Sent from my HTC 10 using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Looks good.
    Looks like you kept your factory antenna in there and just wrapped up the wires.
    Are those the wires that came with the DBS?
     
  7. sinxa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    I saw this thing a few times on aliexpress. But i found all the reviews are negative and only few sales on this item. I think it was meant to make the knock off version of the famous ARGtek.. But to bad it performs even worst than stock antena.
     
  8. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    Yes, I kept all three antennas installed and just wrapper and tied the old wire. I know most remove these, I felt if their not in the way, just leave them.
    No, those internal cables are not what came with the kit. I bought upgraded cables on ebay. I've read on a few threads that the ones that come with the kit are of low quality. Also have upgraded outside cables on order.
     
  9. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Wish I had the stock hardware. I can only get about 500ft before I lose video.
     
  10. sinxa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    i have a package of 3pairs 5dbi RP-SMA wifi omni antena + UFL cable on the way from aliexpress. i planed to mod the stock 2.4g antena with these replacement. i know maybe most people would suggest me to go for ARGtek or DBS ITELite, but in this range of price i think it worth to try when you dont have stock antenna. Here is the example
     
  11. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Really good looking install. This is the route I'm going to take too.
    Do you have a link to the upgraded cables you got on eBay?
     
  12. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Saw this last night after making this thread. Thought about going this route, but I figure I'll just go with the DBS and only do it once.
     
  13. WilliamM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    Lancaster, Pa.
    TaraFirma and jeganx like this.
  14. Dal

    Dal

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    28
    Has any one kept the argtek bracket and mounted the DBS on that?
    Never mind. Yea you can found the post


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    #14 Dal, Sep 2, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2016
  15. sinxa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    38
    Great, that's better decision. . . . ;)
     
  16. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Can you post a link?
     
  17. skimo1217

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it that ? DBS STANDARD ITE-DBS01.4

    And what's the best video on youtube to installation ? I've never done something like that
     
  18. TaraFirma

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Texas
    Yup that's it. Looking forward to getting this.
     
  19. skimo1217

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just bought it. just a question, I think I'll follow this tutorial beacause that's the best I found:

    But he has remove the original antena. In the picture here: DBS STANDARD ITE-DBS01.4 The original antena still there. Almost all tutorial remove it.
     
  20. terry_g_c

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Springfield, Mo
    I'm pretty sure it's just a matter of personal preference. If you leave it you won't lose it in case you decide to go back to it later. But if you leave it you will have to to make sure the wires are fixed so they can't move around and touch any electronics inside.

    Sent from my Z963VL using PhantomPilots mobile app